Just Write | What Do You Believe You Owe Yourself In Life?

heart_741511_640.jpg
Source

To owe means there's a debt, duty or obligation to be fulfilled. Have you ever thought you owed yourself anything? Honestly, I have never given this question - What do you believe you owe yourself in life? - a thought until I received it in my email from Prompt A Day by @shadowspub.

The Just Write contest gives me the right avenue to express my thoughts on this question.

Life keeps us busy with many responsibilities which we are obligated to perform but just like me, I am sure there are some people who have not paid much attention to whether or not we owe ourselves anything. First, in order to fulfill some or all of my responsibilities, I have to be okay, in the right state of mind and body, to do this! This means I should come first. After some reflections, these are what I came up with.

Self Love And Self Care

How can I love and care for others if I do not do the same or know how to do so for myself? I owe it to myself to love every part of me, spirit, soul and body, and to care for myself. If I don't do this, no one else will. In this case, I come first. I have learned to appreciate who I am, love my body and mind, and work on being better everyday.

i_love_myself_417267_640.jpg
Source

When my needs are met and I am in a fit state of mind and body, I can readily attend to others. It's just like a doctor. If he is ill or emotionally unstable, he cannot be allowed to attend to patients until he takes care of himself first.

Stay Positive Always

I never underestimate the need for a stable mindset. Staying positive is being optimistic, confident, hopeful about life. There is so much negative energy all around us such that it's easy to complain and nag which can drain the life out of a person.

img_20210615_113835.jpg
Source

Things may not always go the way I want, I owe it to myself to stay positive by thinking, speaking and acting positively. This includes avoiding negative situations and people. It gives me a calm outlook on life.

A Healthy Lifestyle

I am entitled to only one body. Life is a gift. How well I use my body and the life I have been given is up to me. The saying health is wealth is my motto. How best can I enjoy life without staying healthy? I owe myself the duty to eat well, stay fit and avoid anything that may jeopardize my health. It's all part of self care and self worth.

say_yes_to_the_live_2121044_640.jpg
Source

Never Lose My Faith In God

My faith is basically what keeps me grounded, that is faith in God. The confidence that I have a Friend I can always turn to and who will always be there for me is not to be trivialized. I owe it to myself to value my faith in God and hold tight to it.

I owe myself to live life to the fullest, value every moment and give every commitment my best. I could keep writing on the many things I believe I should do for myself. How about you? What do you believe you owe yourself in life?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency