Are You Calm? Try Self Soothing

Do you know that moment when your heart unexpectedly beats faster for no reason and you find it difficult pulling enough air into your lungs to calm your body? It's like your body is trying to tell you something but you don't know what it is. It can be scary and confusing.

Well, I have been here several times. In moments like these, I become agitated and instead of pacing around, worsening the situation by worrying, I try to calm myself by finding ways to self soothe.

Breathing Exercises, Are They For Real?

First, I work on my breathing while conducting a mental search of my surroundings. I cannot put into words how I do this but I just do and it's always helpful.

img_20211016_155829.jpg

I hear people talk about breathing exercises and I had always wondered how that was supposed to help. I thought these white people come up with the weirdest things (no offence intended, please. Haha). So when I experienced an episode of anxiety followed by a bit of confusion, I told myself there was no harm in trying these exercises. It would either work or it would not. Guess what? It worked! Haha. So breathing exercises are not weird at all!

I learned that just as we exercise our bodies and minds, so should we exercise our lungs. Our bodies and minds are connected such that anything you do to your body has a way of reflecting on your mind and vice versa.

Ever since I came to the knowledge of the interconnection between our minds and bodies on certain levels, I always run a mental check when my body begins to act funny. It helps me attend to some issues fast before it degenerates to a worse case.

The day I tried deep breathing exercises, I felt so much better. I took a very deep breath, held it for like some seconds, then exhaled till the last air was out. I felt instant relief. Breathing exercises help our body and minds to fight off stress.

The Power Of Music

Another way I calm myself is by listening to classical and soft/Celtic pop songs especially those by Enya, Coldplay and sometimes smooth jazz music by Kenny G and Yanni. I find this relaxing and I know so many other people use music as a form of relaxation.

img_20211016_160003.jpg

There's a way music kind of speaks to my brain and my body consequently moves with it. Regardless of the type of music, if it soothes you, go for it.

Pen Your Worries

I also like to write when I am stressed. Although this will not come as a first self-soothing option for me until my body is really calm and my mind is in a serene state. If not, I'll most likely write gibberish or rant.

img_20211016_155926.jpg

I like how the blockchain has changed things globally especially for writers. Writing is a form of therapy and it becomes better when one can earn through it. Some of my write-ups flow from a mind looking to offload some stuff and writing makes it easy.

The paper and pen or pc/mobile device in this case becomes a therapist that I can pour my thoughts to, without judgment. Whether or not I post it for the world to read is up to me. Journaling is a good way to calm oneself.

Later on, when I read some of the things I have written in the past, I am encouraged by how far I have come and work on parts of me that are still pending.

These are some of the ways I calm myself. How about you? Thanks for visiting my blog and have a great weekend!

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency