Dream Destination. One-day trip.

Hans Christian Anderson once said "To travel is to live” and I believe that to live our deepest realities, we must be able to find meaning in the most little things and be bold enough to explore the heights of every fantasy.

Although I haven't traveled in a year and some months due to the covid-19 restrictions placed at the airways in my country, I still feel the need to travel because traveling opens me up to a lot of learning, a lot of sightseeing, and experience that has never been.

untitled.gif

Most times I want to experience something different, something that gives me a broad new feeling and at the end of the day, something I can term a fulfilled journey. All these are strong reasons why I love to travel.

untitled.gif

Now that I can freely travel around the world without restrictions, I decided to join in dreemsteem's contest to share with everyone what it feels like to be on a day trip to a chill place in any country of my choice.

I on a normal day would have thought of flying to Paris or London which I've always dreamed of but looking at the budget we were to work with which is $100, equivalent to 41,500NGN in my country at the moment, I decided to have my trip here in my country, Nigeria.

Of course, there are so many beautiful places in my country to choose my trip, places like the Lekki conservation center In Lagos state, Obudu cattle ranch in Cross river state, Erin-Ijesha Waterfalls in Osun state, etc. But I chose to go to a new park located in the south of my country, Nigeria for my one-day trip and its name is - Port Harcourt.

I chose the particular park because it's one of the most beautiful places in the city and there has been so much talking about it that anyone that hadn't gone would want to see it for themselves. So, I said, "why not?".

I called my friend, @zellypearl on the phone, on one fine morning and ask her about her well-being and how she's coping with life. She responds with a long story of how life sucks and how she's still living for a few persons. I console her and also tell her about the recent happenings in my life and how I've been overwhelmed with a lot lately.
untitled.gif

She feels terrible for me too coupled with the fact that we hadn't seen ourselves this year because of her commitment to medical school. After the deep talking and finally laughter, I find the scenario as an opportunity to suggest a trip, maybe to relieve us of the emotional and mental stress.

I ask her where she would love to spend an entire day if funds were made available and being the ever indecisive one, she couldn't pick a spot. So, I decided for us, the park I already had in mind because u wanted us to share some space for a day, talk about life and the recent happenings, take a walk to see beautiful things around us, and maybe just to feel alive again.

She says "yes" and with the excitement in her voice, I was sure it was going to be a wonderful ride to - Pleasure Park, Port Harcourt, Nigeria.

We fixed a date for 27th October 2021 and the next morning, she met me at my place at exactly 10 am. I booked a taxi ride which cost us about 2,400NGN from our location to the desired destination. In the car, we talked about a lot of things - how my sister's kid is constantly acting the nuisance in my life but still a sweet little comfort. I tell her about my recent progress on crypto tradings and she smiles at how much I've grown in the past months.

She also tells me about her boyfriend in medic school who went through hell before he eventually got her to admit how she felt about him. I guess that's some toxic girl trait. At some glances, I happen to catch the driver eavesdropping on our conversation and staring from the glass in front of him at every little stop we made at traffic signs. He smiled when he realized that I was keeping an eye on him and I gave a faint one too. I was a little uncomfortable, however, I didn't see that as intruding because it was a public space and he the driver could hear.

Image source
Screenshot_2021-10-28-12-12-11~2.png

Finally, We alighted and got to the park and were asked to pay an entry fee of 1,000NGN each. After paying, we took a walk around to see what activity might catch our interest.

Movies! That was the first thing that caught our attention as there was a cinema in the park. It is named "Kada cinemas" and it's one of the finest I've seen in a while. We booked tickets for a blockbuster movie which cost 4,500NGN each. However, we were made to wait for the movie to start since it was scheduled for 12:30 pm.

Image from unsplash.com

Screenshot_2021-10-28-20-02-59~2.png

We bought a pack of jumbo popcorns and two drinks for both of us which cost exactly 1,600NGN and at 12:30 pm, we got in and saw a tribe(local) movie which I might share later. It was a wonderful movie experience and it was actually worth the time for which it lasted - 1hr 55mins.

After the movie, we went over for a train ride which cost us 500NGN each. My friend, @zellypearl was so excited about it because she never had a train ride her entire life but now we could afford it, she felt "Why not?". We paid and got on the train and all I could hear were screams of laughter and excitement from @zellypearl . Her excitement rubbed off on me, one could tell as I joined her in the whole giggling and excitement. It felt great seeing my friend happy and myself alive in a place like that.

Going further, we decided to get on the climbing tower. The charge for each person was 1,000NGN and it was an amusing one as we were both challenged to get to the top of the tower. Both of us pondered on how far we could go as we took each step to the next. Sandra however, got to the preceding tower, almost to the end until she could no longer go meanwhile, I stopped at some steps below her.

The watch guards at the climbing tower were impressed at her agility but I wasn't surprised because though she was thin, she was always the one with a lot of stamina and endurance. It was again a wonderful experience and we never got enough.

After that we headed over to the ice-cream van and got two cups of ice cream for ourselves(each cost 800NGN) as we took a walk down the other end of the park, continuing our sightseeing. During our walk, we got past beautiful sunflowers and all other green beauties I have no idea of their names. We also stopped by to watch a couple who invited us to come to watch them perform karaoke in a circle of 5 friends. It was beautiful to watch and listen and we wished for a similar experience a second time.

After that, we moved down to the pleasure park lake where fish are sometimes caught. We loved the entire view but on second thought, we asked "Why not?" so, we took a boat ride which cost 2,500NGN per person. Two other girls boarded the boat with us and it was a fun time feeling the calm breeze and the disturbing waves from the waters.

Our final stop was at the "grill place" where we got grilled fish and chicken. A piece of full fish was 1,500NGN and the chicken was 1,200NGN. We got one extra for each of them in a packed plate to take home and moved on to our exit.

At the exit, I looked back and wondered what it would have felt like if I hadn't taken a step out if I had confined myself to some space and not made use of an opportunity to feel much alive like I already was. I had a lot of "what ifs" but I was glad they didn't change my decision or how I felt about my trip.

On our way back home, we were stuck in traffic and the taxi charge increased to exactly 3,100NGN. That wasn't a bother anyway as I had enough money to pay up for it and some time to get lost in my thoughts.

There, I concluded that my one-day trip was a wonderful experience and in fact, the best one-day trip I've had my whole life. My location was worth every penny and maybe I'd spend a double dollar next time if there is.

Surely, I'd want to do this over and over again if I have the funds available at every given time I feel the urge to explore a certain place.

My total expenses were 38,200NGN, which is about $6 left from the supposed $100 I had in possession. Must have been nice to have some dollars left after a wholesome trip.

Below is a rundown of my Expenses
Special Taxi ride - 2,500NGN
Entry to the park - 2000NGN
Movie ticket - 9,000NGN
Popcorn and drinks - 1,600NGN
Train ride - 1000NGN
Climbing tower - 2000NGN
Ice cream - 1,600NGN
Boat ride - 5,000NGN
Grilled fish - 3,000NGN
Grilled chicken - 2,400NagN
King size Burger - 2,500NGN
Special Taxi ride fro - 3,100NGN

Total is 38,200NGN.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHJJofHQUFwaMbASuAHtKhabvLva5CNotza75icJD8TVwr3rqczCSKRJ9pSrUnu7tD75WWW1oXrvYTtckWtTrq119kGjrgPLEKVkU8qtvyoPkZhMX9g2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency