Dealing with mental illness

Written in ENGLISH and PORTUGUESE.



Fonte

Of course, all of us must guard against talking nonsense about matters that we are aware that we do not master. In today's post I will bring my recent experience about mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety.

As I have said here a few times, I am a Military Police in the State of Minas Gerais (Brazil). I don't have the source now, but I've read countless times that the Police carries the weight of being one of the professions that have more professionals who commit self-extermination in the world. So, after a few years, I unfortunately received a lot of news from police officers who took their own lives. Unfortunately, this is not just a problem with the police, society is indeed sick.

A few weeks ago I talked to my girlfriend about the fluctuating behavior of a friend of hers, who will be one of our bridesmaids. This woman has been suffering from depression for some years, but her behavior fluctuates a lot, there are times when she does well at work and in interpersonal relationships and there are times when she doesn't develop anything. She is a person who has no other illnesses, is beautiful, has an APPARENTLY structured family emotionally and financially, so what is she missing? That's the question I asked myself.

Yesterday, while working, I received a call from a friend who asked me if I was aware of the suicide of a police officer who studied with me during the course for the promotion of Sergeants we took in 2019. The moment I heard this question I froze in fear and just thought about hanging up the phone and making calls to confirm the story. Fortunately it wasn't true. The suicide rumor was false, but as I talked to him, I realized that he is really upset about some issues. If I hadn't listened to his anxieties, I would ask myself again: As he is an exemplary, healthy, financially controlled police officer, what does he lack?

Finally, I concluded that it is not up to us to understand or question what is lacking for people who find themselves in this situation, as sometimes even they do not have these answers. However, I emphasize the importance of keeping an eye on each other, with the intention of seeking expert help as soon as possible, whenever necessary. We cannot allow the rush of everyday life to take away this sensitivity.

Thanks for reading my post.



Fonte
PORTUGUÊS

Lidando com doenças mentais

Com certeza, todos nós devemos nos policiar para não falarmos bobeira acerca de assuntos que temos a consciência que não dominamos. Na postagem de hoje trarei minha recente experiência sobre doenças mentais, como depressão e ansiedade.

Como já disse aqui algumas vezes, sou Policial Militar no Estado de Minas Gerais (Brasil). Não tenho a fonte agora, mas já li inúmeras vezes que a Polícia carrega o peso de ser uma das profissões que mais tem profissionais que cometem autoextermínio no mundo. Sendo assim, após alguns anos, infelizmente recebi muitas notícias de policiais que tiraram a própria vida. Lamentavelmente, esse não é um problema apenas nas polícias, a sociedade está de fato doente.

Há algumas semanas conversei com a minha namorada sobre a oscilação do comportamento de uma amiga dela, que será uma das nossas madrinhas de casamento. Essa mulher sofre de depressão há alguns anos, mas seu comportamento oscila bastante, tem épocas que rende bem no trabalho e nas relações interpessoais e tem épocas que não desenvolve nada. Ela é uma pessoa que não tem outras doenças, é bonita, tem uma família APARENTEMENTE estruturada emocional e financeiramente, então o que será que falta para ela? Essa é a pergunta que eu me fiz.

Na data de ontem, enquanto trabalhava, recebi a ligação de um amigo que me perguntou se eu estava sabendo sobre o suicídio de um policial que estudou comigo durante o curso para a promoção de Sargentos que fizemos em 2019. No momento que eu ouvi essa pergunta eu congelei de medo e só pensei em desligar o telefone e fazer ligações para confirmar a história. Felizmente não era verdade. O boato do suicídio era falso, mas, ao conversar com ele, percebi que ele está realmente angustiado com algumas questões. Se eu não tivesse ouvido suas angústias, novamente me perguntaria: Sendo ele um policial exemplar, saudável, financeiramente controlado, o que será que falta para ele?

Por fim, concluí que não cabe a nós entender ou questionar o que falta para pessoas que se encontram nessa situação, já que as vezes nem elas mesmas tem essas respostas. Contudo, ressalto a importância de vigiarmos uns aos outros, na intenção de procurar ajuda especializada o mais cedo possível, sempre que for necessário. Não podemos permitir que a correria do dia a dia nos tire essa sensibilidade.

Obrigado por lerem a minha postagem.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency