A relationship that isn't perfect

image.png

How good can it get?

Trying our best for our loved one's sake often comes naturally. When both people in the relationship want to do everything they can to please one another, this is a problem more often than not. We'll often get in situations where negativity is involved. It's hard to shake it off when no agreements improve how they feel. Have you ever been in a similar situation?

This one time, I was walking home with my dearest friend, but I couldn't keep up with her pace. My stomach was too full. Still, my legs instinctively tried not getting left behind. Within ten minutes, I had developed mild stomach pain and a really bad mood.

At a certain point, she realized how I was being sort of rude (I hadn't realized it myself). When she asked me about it, I told her it was because she kept walking too quickly, despite me having asked her to slow down a few blocks back. She said she'd get herself to slow down then, even though it was frustrating because of how I slow I wanted to walk.

This is a problem, because I can see her frustration, and it gets to me. So forcing herself to slow down still worsens the situation - you know how overly sensible people can get when their stomach hurts. I can't walk faster, she can't keep up with my slow pace, she doesn't want to walk ahead. Little things like this stack over time. It slowly gets personal.

But most people - like I once did - forget it's okay if the relationship isn't perfect. Because it can still be a really good relationship, no matter how far it is from perfection. In this sense, it's the exact opposite of "a little bit is way better nothing", and it's just as important.


Image source: pixabay

Please check out the Proof of Brain community and the leodex POB market.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency