How was your first few weeks on Hive?

Last week I was lucky, I used the tag "blockchain" as instructed by @clixmoney to find contents revolving blockchain. However, this morning, just like the previous week, I didn't plan the things that triggered this writing.

All I did was wake up at exactly 2:15am, got hold of my phone(this is turning into an habit, I gotta change), then, uninstalled my Facebook, and Messenger app.

blonde-1503202_640.jpg
Source

Why on earth I'm I installing my favorite app from my phone? It was becoming too distracting, making me forget the things that are important. This week I didn't want to get those notifications from my friends, so I took it off my phone.

As l laid down thinking of what else I should be doing, I remembered, I had planned to wake up by midnight, use my almost 16k MB worth of YouTube data to view python courses on YouTube in preparation for my test. So, I went off to YouTube, and wasn't really pleased with what I found.

I stayed a while, and I saw a song I had viewed a few days ago, "Most Girls" by Hailee Steinfeld, I went off and downloaded the audio, and began to sing along. By the way, I am listening to it as I type this.

I did a few dance steps, and I remembered I was supposed to check if @calumam had given the results for the contest last week, I went to my peakd frontend and like fate would have it, the entry I was destined to use was staring at me on the face. I didn't even use the tag to find it.

I didn't open it because of the title, no, it was mere curiosity. I have seen this fellow around and he engages massively. The Hive Earning Stats confirms that, but I am always seeing the @spamminator downvote on his comments. So, you see, I wanted to know what it was he was talking about.

And once I read, I realize he just wanted to be forgiven, and treated better. Probably, get the spamminator tag off his back, since he has shown he is willing to refrain from the offense that earned him that tag on his trail.

@pthker20102 said the newbies should have access to beginners guides so they do not make tons of mistakes as he did. He mentioned it in his post, Letter to proofofbrain (A beginners guide proposal). This was his personal letter to the community.

Wait, is that the reason I am choosing this post for my entry or collaboration? No.

It is because of the comment made by @scholaris.pob. It triggered a memory. It is this memory that I want to share, and I hope you will learn a lot.

He gave a list of links that would help any newbie to function effectively in the Hive ecosystem, and proof of brain as well.

Screenshot_20210727-033604_1.jpg

Its amazing how time flies, because I read those posts, and in one I found out, I had left a comment with tons of questions. These were questions I didn't understand when I first joined proof of brain community.

Screenshot_20210727-033851_1.jpg

I almost fainted when I saw that comment (Just kidding) but I did reacted in a surprising way over that comment. I couldn't believe that three(3) months ago, I didn't understand what it meant to be in this space, and thrive with everyone else. I couldn't believe that 3 months later, I could boldly say one or two things about the community and Hive in particular.

You know, joining proof of brain helped me understand HIVE. POB was sort of new when I first joined, so I had access to a wide range of information. I used all of the things I learned, inside the community and outside of the community, most importantly, Hive, in particular.

In the early days of joining HIVE, I actually joined from the Leofinance frontend, I had read @melbourneswest post and left a comment. When he returned, he advised that I join communities and tribes that I loved and work my way up from there. Sincerely, I didn't understand what he meant, but, when I found proof of brain, I began to understand everything he said to me.

Did I get response on those questions? If you asked me this question yesterday or few hours ago, I would have told you, I had no idea because I didn't.

I was new, navigating Hive, and knowing where to get my notifications wasn't easy, yet, I had answers, but, I didn't get to see them until today.

Now, those links @scholaris shared pointed out those crucial information newbies are supposed to arm themselves with as they begin their blockchain journey in this space.

Getting back to @pthker2010 post, he did say something that caught my attention and it is what everyone should watch out for 👇👇

many today are vitcim of the hivewatchers not really because they want to engage in any act of plagrism or abusing of tags which as really lead them into it ,the fact that we have some that a fraudster too should not be overlooked,but with a guide to englighten every new users,it will be well said that user's as been educated even after they now go ahead to voilet the laws.

Yes, Hivewatchers, they are doing a great job keeping HIVE free from spam and plagiarism. And they are the folks you shouldn't allow to visit your post, not, for any reason.

To avoid spamming or being rated as a spammer, you have to learn to comment genuinely. You cannot comment genuinely if you read posts you do not like or connect with. This is why you need to find your place the moment you get here.

There are tons of communities available on HIve, and lots of interesting writers. You could use your first few weeks to find them, follow, and read their posts.

As you grow with them, you will begin to find your voice, and leaving behind a genuine comment won't be so difficult.

If you still find it difficult to do this, then, read that post, think about your experiences or that of someone you know that is similar to what the author is talking about, share those experiences with him or her in the comment box.

It shows you are human, and you understand what the author is talking about, and to crown it all, you have walked through similar path.

You could make it a general rule for yourself, if a post doesn't trigger anything, leave the comment box empty, so you wouldn't be tempted to leave comments like, "great post" behind.

In order to avoid situations whereby you read something and it doesn't make you want to leave a comment, try, scrolling down your feed, and only open posts that interests you either because of the titles, the pictures, or the author (a perfect example is how I got started on this post, it was my curiosity over the author and what he had to say)

It can be overwhelming to see posts on Hive especially the trennding ones. As a newbie, you will be intimated, because, you will begin to feel there is something wrong with your writing skills. You will find yourself worrying if your post will trigger any response in the form of comments and upvotes from the community.

Soon, you will be experiencing writer's block, because of the fear in your head. Perfection is what you will find in most writings on Hive. This will bother you, I promise you... Lol. You will think your writing won't be a good match for all the wonderful ones in the trennding page.

Breath in and breath out, join contests. Yes, it will help you relax, and enjoy the atmosphere. Most contests on Hive asks that you engage with other contestants, as a criteria for topping the list of winners. And it's for your good, because once you start visiting other contestants, and leave comments, you will be exposed.

You will be exposed to how other people write, and their magic will rub off on you. You will be getting their writing initiatives, adding them to yours, and bloom with it.

The most beautiful part, is that you will make friends, and it's important that you do. So find a way to make friends.

Oh, there are so many things about Hive that will take you time to learn and understand. You will have to experience most of them for better understanding

There are things like following like-minded minds, doing a good introduction post, powering up tokens, using the markdown styling for better post formatting, protecting your keys, and most importantly using the right tags.

I'll leave you the links that @scholaris shared so you can read up other interesting facts about Hive.

3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive

The Absolute Beginner's Guide to Proof of Brain

How to post like a pro - Complete guide to Markdown formatting

CCC/Abuse and Plagiarism

Newbie Guide

It's already Tuesday over here, but, happy new week. See you at the top.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency