Thinker's corner: Don't tell me what to do

We are watchmen at a certain point and this is because of the experience one has gained by advantage of age. Some years ago in school, I came across a young lady who was in an unhealthy relationship. She was young and naive, so she was easily deceived with enticing words to cover up for the wrong she saw. She was gradually drowning in the mud but her infatuation couldn't let her see the sinking sand. I didn't want her to go down that lane. I've heard of people who had ignored certain red signs and ended up regretting it, particularly with the ladies who have the idea of "changing the guy".

Photo source

One evening, I called for her and tried to clarify her about the few concepts of love that I know with true stories of people who made that same mistake she was making and is regretting. Prior to this time, I learned a few brothers who cared about her had tried to advise her and she feels no one can tell her what to do or how to go about with her life. It didn't change with me, she told me the status of her parents and how even her mum hadn't said anything about it. At some point she helped me complete the statements I was about to say and tried to quote some scriptures for me as to why her decision was not bad. I knew I wasn't going to win, she knew more than I did even though she looked younger.

I told myself to step back. If she knew what I was going to tell her, and her parents know about her unhealthy relationship and are fine with it, then who am I to say a thing. I left her to her decision and pride and just prayed for God to help her realize. I met her late last year and noticed she was a changed person, no more in that relationship and is more careful with who she hangs out with. I believe experience spoke for her.


This is in response to the Contest by @kenechukwu97 on the thinkers corner. It's still valid

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency