20 HOURS UNDER %A Picture Worth A Thousand Words %

WHAT I SEE
I see a strong woman who refuses to loose hope, looking out for even the slightest of hope.

WHAT I FEEL
I feel that no matter the situation you find yourself in, as long as there is still life, never let the candle of your hope quench.


Rampant continuous gunshots could be heard above us, as we are stuck underground. Not actually stuck, we could walk out through the front door but we would be dead in a split second.

It has been 15 days since the Militant Q invasion of the city of Quer. They have taken over our city. Had all our leaders beheaded in the city square. They came hungry for blood and they have taken a lot.

Above us are these militants in a heated crossfire with our city force men.They have insisted that every body must serve only their true god, the goddess ARTEXIA. They have set out to kill every body who does not have the mark of the goddess.
We on the other hand are 3 left out of 8 journalists who were sent to cover the situation.

The first attempt to extract us was a failure, as the militants are fully equipped with heavy weapons which destroyed the extraction team. Last time i contacted HQ they said we should hang on a little longer as another extraction plan is underway, this time they would be joining forces with our neighboring city's a armed forces -That has been about 4 hours ago.

I looked out through the only opening in our hideout hoping with all my heart to see a sign of the extraction team.

pBMyo3B2Sao45kGEB1kRY9cJBFGQnrPp2qChGHkgVjzu1y6XFCd4yc38V4SCApS6EKE2rggj3kPHGhNeK5Ygn66aERkaWz1fyzMyatE4vD2Cqg69s6MopPymrWbvNXxoJCirbcQTVqUY8pjgMM4VM3yw9xRWySZWJfFMNsT82wPCFGy5.webp
¡source

We are all women and we have no fire arm on us, we stand no chance against these Ruthless men. They would definitely satisfy their sexual urges before sending us to our graves. I have never been more scared in my life. I could feel every part of my body shiver.

"Let us go and surrender to them, show them our ID's as journalists and let them know we we are not the enemies."

"Cherry that is a stupid plan"

I rebuked her.

"These animals don't give a dime about our ID. All they see when they look at us are infidels and unfaithful sinners."

"My lovely daughters, will I ever get to see you again. I promised I'll be there for your 40th birthday. Now I might not even get to see you turn 16."

Shirley lamented as she looked down at the picture of her twin daughters in her hands.

I went over to where Shirley sat and placed her head on my shoulders. I was still trying to console her when I heard the door open.

I sprang up to my feet only to see cherry run out of the door, I wanted to run after her, but Shirley held me back.

"Cherry what have you done!"

I rushed to the opening, the evening sun was out now.

pBMyo3B2Sao45kGEB1kRY9cJBFGQnrPp2qChGHkgVjzu1y6XFCd4yc38V4SCApS6EKE2rggj3kPHGhNeK5Ygn66aERkaWz1fyzMyatE4vD2Cqg69s6MopPymrWbvNXxoJCirbcQTVqUY8pjgMM4VM3yw9xRWySZWJfFMNsT82wPCFGy5_1630948624361.jpg

I watched cherry approach the militants with raised hands and her ID dangling in the air. The militants grabbed her, checked for the mark of the goddess and starting molesting her in terrible ways. Tears rushed down my cheeks, I couldn't watch anymore. My feet couldn't carry me anymore, I fell where I stood. In few minutes I heard cherry scream so loud, and everywhere became so quiet and cold.

Some minutes passed, or maybe hours, i lost count of time. I heard footsteps approach. My hearts were beating louder than ever. Could it be that cherry gave up our location before she gave up the ghost. The footsteps came to a halt, then came the banging on the door. They started shooting at the hinges. We knelt together, hand in hand, we said our last prayers. As the shooting got much, a stray bullet hit Shirley straight in the head, I watched her lifeless body slump.

Was this the end? Is all hope lost?

I ran to the opening, with eyes closed, whispered a short prayer, then I opened my eyes slowly.
pBMyo3B2Sao45kGEB1kRY9cJBFGQnrPp2qChGHkgVjzu1y6XFCd4yc38V4SCApS6EKE2rggj3kPHGhNeK5Ygn66aERkaWz1fyzMyatE4vD2Cqg69s6MopPymrWbvNXxoJCirbcQTVqUY8pjgMM4VM3yw9xRWySZWJfFMNsT82wPCFGy5_1630948535804.jpg

Behold there it was, the light at the end of the tunnel. Hundreds of armed force men, charging towards my hideout, shooting down every militant as they approach.

I took a deep breath, i smiled, and then, just then I felt a bullet hit me. I fell on my knees, and feeling as light as a feather, I reached the ground and slowly my eyes closed.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPb5bN1Xxigyp7M9ypczTzKifnajLtykfr2ZNnTqZsvj9z2GK5uMRZQZPgmqtQXtKWJ5bzexhASs1k7Viewysw4MyAjD9hHiK1aaRDSxMbsd.webp

This is my entry for A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words Contest. Do Join @freewritehouse for more free write prompts and contests


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency