Seriously? - I can tell em a mile off!

A guy rang me about four months ago asking about an AIO (All-In-One) machine. After going through a couple of options, he said he would get back to me. This is usually a sign of someone who isn't really interested in buying; Why do people do that? The following month he was back on the phone again, asking about an AIO machine. The thing is, he wanted the same spec as the one he already had, which was a bit weird given his reason for replacing it was that his current system was A bit slow. Once again, I went through the options, and once again, he said he would get back to me. Almost a carbon copy of the month previously. Fast forward to last week, and he's back on the phone, but this time, he wants a laptop, and he asks me about an HP ProBook 650 G1, i5 4200m, 8GB, 500GB, 15.6” HD, WiFi, Windows 10 Professional, 12 Months RTB Warranty I asked him if he had the latest stock list to which he said "no" so I forwarded one to him. "That Lenovo X1 Yoga, i7 6500u, 8GB, 256GB SSD, 14.1 QHD Touch, WiFi, Windows 10 Professional, 18 Months RTB Warranty looks nice, is it any good?" obviously, I'm not going to say no am I? We close the deal, and that should have been that.

Wednesday night, with five minutes to go before the end of the day, the phone rings

Customer: "Hi Pete, the laptop has arrived. Do I need to put it on charge?"

Me: "It should be charged, but it's not going to do any harm to plug the mains in."

Customer: "Oh? OK. I just wondered."

Me: "No, you're fine."

What a weird phone call to make?

This morning

I get an email asking me to call him because he believes he has been sent the wrong laptop?

Me: "Hi. You asked me to call. You think you have the wrong machine?"

Customer: "It's OK. I saw Thinkpad and emailed because I had bought a Lenovo."

Me: "Thinkpad's are Lenovo models."

Customer: "Yeah, my wife showed me the Lenovo logo on the bottom left corner. I didn't see it at first coz it was black."

I just know this is another sale I'm gonna regret this sale.

My actual name is Pete

Find out Here why I have the username dick_turpin.


Find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Creative Commons Licence


Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency