POB-WOTW. The Joy that comes from seeing the works of my hand

Hello everyone, I welcome you to my entry on the 4th season of the #wotw contest, with the chosen word Happy. It has been an interesting one so far as I have gotten the privilege to read various entries showing different point of view about the word, and I plan to visit as many as I can before the week runs out .

Back to my topic. Being the last born and the only male child of the family, I have had a lot of support from my parents and elder sisters, financially, academically and in every other area of life, but I have always had it in Mind that a time will come when I would be expected to provide for myself, take care of my parent and family as well, and I have always looked up to that moment.

2efe28f7_0571_4c23_88cf_8da28bd665f5.jpeg

46325e5c_7b85_4d1b_8e80_9010987245f2.jpeg

I could remember a day, I brought home a substandard result from the elementary school that made everyone unhappy, amidst of the advice given to me that day was a line of wisdom that stroke my mind since then, To whom much is given, much is expected.

Looking deeply into that, I started to move and plan my life in the cautiousness that eyes are on me. I almost grew chronophobia (the fear of what tomorrow might today), but I would always tell myself that my future is secured. And all this while, I do feel good when I get a pocket money or when someone visits and gives me money, but not until I started to make my own money.

decb3a12_0c5f_4548_b8a8_e8c96ce54885.jpeg

a0eda324_0b4e_4aba_b765_03672807a31f.jpeg

792cc7fd_4432_42e1_a29f_dc93cb21361b.jpeg

It started after secondary school, while I was waiting to be admitted into the university. I had to make myself busy while time passes, so I started to make artwork frames for sale and also commission works. My first work paid as low as four dollars($4), but as low as it was, it filled my heart with joy, the type I never experienced before. While spending the money I had this peace of mind coupled with happiness, knowing fully well that I worked for the money.

278ae640_7deb_405e_aa18_be8616c6bc5c.jpeg

Apart from the money, the fact that someone paid for the works of my hands made me feel happy, it also made me feel not useless.

5b055062_0088_405f_b40b_2b959a0aeeb8.jpeg

7c0ad27e_919f_4080_afce_2b5c0ee0c9f8.jpeg

I got calls from people across the state with contracts of artworks, through out this period, it felt like paradise. Then I joined this decentralized platform, where I had more chances to express myself through writing and drawing which has been another way I derive joy from the works of my hands. I won’t dive deep on that because we aren’t supposed to talk about the hive blog from the rules.

Nothing brings me more joy than to see myself and people around me change levels for better, being independent and not a liability, knowing that we are surviving the economic status of the country and that we are not engaged in any illegal activity to make money.

Thank you for reading through my entry for the word of the week, I wish you good luck and success in life.

       All pictures originally taken by me @corporateay except the once that I feature inside 
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency