Who's Rewarding Who?


I've been getting nose deep in the Proof Of Brain content for the past few days and all of the discussions that have been going on surrounding the growth of the platform. I'm even starting to need an hour in the morning to reply to comments; this is an amazing problem to have.

If I had one piece of advice for growing your stake, it would be to get onto the active POB member's posts and share your opinions.

Disagree, question deeper, and share your genuine concerns wherever you feel it's appropriate. Be real and be heard (I'm starting to sound like a commercial for a fake ass fashion outlet, fuck sake).


road.jpg

image courtesy - Daniel Rigdon



I was speaking with @penderis yesterday as he was helping me wrap my head around CUB and DeFi farming. His explanations have helped and I feel like the process makes sense, at least until it doesn't, at which point I'll just hassle him again.

During our conversation, we started speaking about the way author and curation rewards are set for Proof Of Brain. Penderis said that the 50/50 split for the rewards could be seen as a person giving themselves a 50% self-vote with every post they upvote. I believe that's a solid way to look at it.

If we view our voting actions as a reflection of ourselves (which everyone should), we could make the case that we're rewarding ourselves for the effort of reviewing the content and deciding to place rewards in the wallets of those we want to see more on the platform.


pobdivider.png


This perspective of voting digs deep into the Proof Of Brain concept because it starts to open up talking points for reputation and credibility. Actual reputation. Not the number on a screen driven upwards by capital and sank by narcissism.

When we contemplate how self-voting is handled on the POB platform we have to take the 50/50 reward split into consideration.


monkey.jpg

image courtesy - Rob Schreckhise



The plans for my own voting are transitioning into a more widespread approach within the community. I exclusively use the POB front-end because I generally lack the focus to handle more than one thing, so I will be putting 100% (let's say 95% to be safe) of my votes back into the community.

I'm also selling off a portion of my rewards into the market (I'm trying for 5-10%) so I can build up some liquidity for any future drops in price where I can snap up any larger liquid sell-offs. I'll still be putting up the 175 POB for POB WOTW each week and the amount will likely increase over time.

As well as the percentage sold to the market and WOTW, I'm also maintaining a 5% beneficiary on every POB post I make, to go towards the @pob-fund account for future development. It was initially 10% per post but I didn't realise there is a 10% beneficiary to the proofofbrainio account for posts made on the front-end.

I do support this as it increases the voting power for @proofofbrainio and provides the rewards needed for fairer distribution, but I feel like this should be discussed further since the intentions of the beneficiary are to support proofofbrain.io (I'm not sure what the costs look like so I assume I'm probably way off base here).

Now that we have the @pob-fund account gathering rewards as well, I think it would be good to have some information about how the 10% directed towards proofofbrainio is being utilised.


pobdivider.png


The above mention of my post beneficiary changes isn't to say that 10% per post is too much to put towards @pob-fund, just that it depends on your current stake and what your intentions are.

I intend to increase the percentage as my stake increases since I feel like providing a percentage of a post is more than acceptable given that curation rewards start to snowball as your stake grows.

This kind of action is a small way to bridge the gap between higher stakeholders and lower stakeholders with the added benefit of it supporting the platform while doing so.





Visit the Ongoing POB Discussion Thread to find recent posts about important POB-related topics.


Don't forget to write your post for this week's POB Word of the Week!

There is 175 POB (liquid) up for grabs. That's 70 HIVE at today's current price.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency