Godzilla vs. Kong: Does what it says

gvk_1.jpg

Another movie that came out in 2021. You know what to expect in this one. Big monsters battling it out.

Directed by Adam Wingard, loved his 2014 movie The Guest.

Those longtime viewers will notice the Lethal Weapon reference. Out of nowhere and made me chuckle. There was another big one I can't even remember at this point and it hasn't been 24 hours since I watched this.

Millie Bobby Brown from Stranger things is in this along with that hilarious Julian Dennison, the New Zealander kid from Hunt for the Wilderpeople. Their subplot was wafer thin as the kids who find the conspiracy theorist podcaster and discover what is really happening with these monsters. This podcaster is Brian Tyree Henry who I know mostly from the excellent tv series Atlanta.

At times I had memories of Tron with all the neon overload even in supposedly modern day settings. The final battle takes place right in the middle of all this neon afterglow.

I was surprised with an appearance of another creature from the Godzilla universe. I'll leave that one up to the imagination.

The film doesn't disappoint those who enjoy the genre. They delivered on big monsters battles and you can actually see what they're doing this time. Those dark scenes and cg really become muddy in the previous film.

Runtime was 113 minutes and held my attention. Worth a single viewing if the subject matters interests you.

gvk_2.jpg

Rotten Tomatoes says it's a 75% critics rating and a 91% audience rating. 91%, is the internet crazy? This is a solid 6 in my opinion.

All media courtesy of themoviedb.org


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency