Growing red beans in pots or containers


Source

 

Urban planting is a practice that is becoming more and more widespread, in many cases as a form of entertainment and in others as a way of returning to the roots, when human beings had an active interaction with nature and the plant world..

Just a few decades ago, when fruit trees, vegetables and other consumer items such as grains were obligatory inhabitants in the backyards of homes, the latter were disappearing with the construction of multi-family dwellings, apartment buildings and narrow houses for lower costs..

In my case I am in the last of the above mentioned, however, I have managed in the little space I have to cultivate different crops, which although it is true that they do not have a major impact on the family economy, it gives me the satisfaction of consuming something 100% healthy and doing a job that I enjoy.

In this case I will explain how I managed to sow and harvest red beans in a mineral water bottle that served as a flowerpot or pot..

I made some holes underneath the container so that the humidity would circulate, I put some gravel at the bottom so that the humid sand would not cover the holes and I filled it with sand, compost and several wastes that serve as nutrients, such as banana or banana shells, egg shells, some pieces of iron, dry leaves, coffee grounds and also some wood clippings..

These ingredients were left in the middle part of the pot..

Subsequently, I planted red bean seeds in the center of the container, at a maximum depth of 5 centimeters. It should be clarified that the seed is the same bean that we eat.

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.19.19 PM.jpeg

Taking into account that this plant is a creeper, I placed the pot near a fence so that it could become entangled in the future, as it happened..

In a few days the seeds germinated and the plant was growing, while it reached the size where it could reach the fence I placed slings or wooden sticks while its trunk was getting fat..

It took a few weeks for this to happen and in a matter of two or three months the plant, entangled in the fence, began to flower and then the pods where the beans are lodged began to grow..

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.19.26 PM 2.jpeg

The care of the plant was minimal, just keeping the soil moist, watering it every morning..

vaina verde.jpeg

When the pods reached a certain size they began to ripen, turning from green to yellow and finally to brown..

I removed the ones that were already ripe because if you leave them on the tree they automatically open and the grains scatter on the ground..

vaina madura.jpeg

In the end, their first production was 30 pods with an approximate number of 250 grains..

One month later, it is in bloom again for a new production that, according to our own experience, will be smaller than the first one, and once it is finished, another month later it will have a new harvest smaller than the previous one..

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.19.26 PM.jpeg

With all the care the plant withers and finally dies after the third harvest or does not produce again, I do not know if in other conditions this does not happen, I am only sure that a tree that occupies little space and needs little care is capable of giving us more than 500 grains in its lifetime and that these multiplied by several will serve us for one or more meals..

There is no limit as to whether it should be in the house or apartment, but it is good that the sun's rays reach it, although I have known of experiences that have managed to get them indoors.

I have managed to grow many crops and you can do it too.

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.19.26 PM 2.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.35.29 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.35.31 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20201105 at 3.35.44 PM.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 20201106 at 4.04.18 PM.jpeg

 
All photos are my own, taken in the small space of land I own in my city house, except for the one where the source is marked on it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency