To My Poem and Song | National Boyfriend Day 2021

To My Poem and Song - banner (2).png

You are a poem waiting to be written,
A song about to be sung,

The ballad of my emotions,
The epic hero who’s unsung.

You are the poem in iambic pentameter,
Echoing the beating of my heart like no other.

Now let’s not dwell too much on hyperbolic words
Because you make me literally lose my nerves.

I could listen to you talk all night,
And if I could,
I would ask for another day.

You have no idea how you’ve changed my life,
Turned it upside down a full hundred and eighty degrees.
You don’t know how you’ve shaken my beliefs,
Made me question
if I should give it all up on bended knees.

You, my dear, are a song about to be played,
And I can’t wait for the opening strums.

You build me up with such anticipation
That I might start before the intro is on.

You are a sonnet--
All fourteen lines of it.

But wouldn’t it be great
If I were half of it, my sweet?
You’d be the A to my B,
The C to my D,
The E to my F
In a rhyming scheme so perfect.
Then we’d cap it all off with a resounding couplet.

You, my love, are the ancient rhythm
That’s been in my heart since I was born,

And I won’t stop until you will learn
That I am the voice to your tune.

And, my darling, you may be afraid to sing with me,
But come—take my hand.
I’m sorry if you’ll find it cold.
No, I’m not dead.
All the blood’s rushing to my head
As I see us---palm to palm
Our hands---pilgrims praying
Finally, at the altar that they’ve been seeking.
🌸

Pink Flower.png

Last night, as I was checking my Facebook Memories, I came across a Philippine Star article I shared last year on National Boyfriend Day. I've been single then and even until now, so I just shared and re-shared the said article in jest.

Consequently, I remembered this poem, "To My Poem and Song," which I wrote a couple of years ago. I first posted this on Facebook and then on my WordPress blog Aprire's Scribbles for World Poetry Day 2020, and some of my friends couldn’t help from asking who I’m referring to in this poem. This is my best response:

Sometimes, a work develops in such a way that it is no longer confined to its circumstance (when it was originally written). I think it is so in this particular poem. To me, it is now a poem to someone that I’ve been longing for all my life. May he feel the energy I’m sending through this poem. 💕

Hence, you may consider this as an ode to my boyfriend for life. He and I may not be together yet, but I know that time will come soon.

My high school English teacher saw this Facebook post, and the following is her comment:

April, your poetry is blossoming with emotions. Whomever it is intended to be . . . may he deserve it! It is a very wonderful piece of art intellectually crafted!

Rose.png

I'm still relatively new to Hive, and you may read more about me and my interests in my first article: Get to Know April: A Self-Intro Blog

I've already written travelogues:

And I've also shared a food blog recently called Soto Betawi: The Search for the Ultimate Indonesian Food as well as a musical review entitled CTC Stages Jonathan Larson's Rent.

Feel free to follow me to read more about my adventures and creative writing endeavors.

Hive Post Banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency