Preparing For a Lockdown Chinese New Year


Yesterday, I had this urge to start looking for Chinese new year cookies and snacks online because of a few flooding my feed. So I posted out a status asking if any of my friends were baking any that I could buy.

During Chinese new year, it is a tradition in Malaysia where we would visit our Chinese friends just to celebrate this festivity. We would be greeted with firecrackers, and most importantly food. Some house may open up their house which we call 'open house' for guest to dine and eat more full fledge meals but if the house isn't an 'open house', we would then be served with snacks and cookies like the photo above.

image.png
My post on facebook

Back to where I was about looking for cookies to buy. After waiting for a few hours, there weren't any response or anyone selling on my Facebook feed, so I went into a Covid19 food delivery group where there are over 30k local brands and small businesses that are trying to learn a living due to this pandemic. So I thought it would be a good idea to buy from these local bakers. To my surprise, after posting that I was looking for Chinese new year cookies, there were 300 over response and counting offering me their homemade snacks menu. It was a tough decision to choose but I finally ended up with ngaku crackers, fried prawn rolls, macaroons and soya Longan Pudding. There were many more cookies, but to be honest, I don't fancy cookies much as they're often very dry. So I looked for snacks instead so I can binge watch Netflix when I'm home alone during Chinese new year this year. Sadly, we are on tight lockdown again so that means I cant travel back home to my hometown.


Free mix berry free gift



Fried prawn rolls






Arrowhead 'ngaku' crackers


I guess this year Chinese New Year would be very different. Not allowed to be going out but with these snacks in hand, I'm hoping to still get the feel of Chinese New Year at home. My aunt and her daughter would be coming over for Chinese New Year eve for a small reunion dinner. I guess it's been awhile since I've seen any of my relatives or family member. Nevertheless, nothing is going to stop me from enjoying this festive season.

Have a great weekend ahead!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency