Second Time to Celebrate Under Community Quarantine · A Birthday Celebration

P1560093.JPG

3.png

This is the 20th birthday celebration of my daughter and the second time to celebrate under quarantine. On her past birthdays, we always do the celebration on an island, camping on the beach or an overnight stay somewhere away from home.
It seems we are all stuck at home and with no clear sight when things will be back to normal again.

I tried my best to make her happy on her special day.

P1560088.JPG

To start things off, a little photo shoot for the birthday girl. We may not be on an island in the sun but I hope this brightened her day.

P1560090.JPG

P1560085.JPG

We ordered a custom-made cheesecake composed of blueberry, strawberry, lemon and oreo cheesecake. We used old candles and luckily there is a 2 and a 0.

P1560097.JPG

Our Little Birthday Celebration

P1560100.JPG

I kept asking her what she wanted to eat on her birthday. She wanted Chinese food and there is a popular Chinese restaurant near our area called "Ho Chai Lai". Her favorite from this restaurant is Lemon chicken.

P1560074.JPG

Good thing the restaurant is open but they only accept take-out and delivery. I recall the last time that we dined at the restaurant. While waiting for your food, they serve free green tea and some crunch treats.

P1560075.JPG

We ordered "Hakaw" which is shrimp dumplings. One order is only composed of three pieces and I think this is enough.

P1560055.JPG

Next, there should always be noodles during celebrations. This noodle dish is called "Pancit Canton", it includes vegetables, pork, shrimp and liver. The best Pancit Canton for me should not be dry and always be drenched in sauce.

P1560056.JPG

The sweet and sour pork, another favorite in Chinese restaurants. Includes onions, pineapples and bell pepper. If you haven't tried this yet it is something to look forward to.

P1560057.JPG

The Nido Soup with quail eggs. The soup is a local version of the popular Bird's nest soup. El Nido is a place here in the Philippines where the nest used in the soup are found. The ingredients are actually dried saliva of birds that are left on the nest. This may be too exotic for some but here the soup is very popular.

P1560059.JPG

Here in the Philippines we always have rice during meals. We ordered Crab Fried Rice and if you love crab you will surely love this dish.

P1560063.JPG

As part of the main dish, we also have Calamares. Squid that is breaded and deep-fried, if it is overcooked the squid becomes too rubbery. This dish should be cooked just right and should have a good dipping sauce. They provided mayonnaise but the best dipping for me is vinegar and soy sauce added with some grated ginger.

P1560067.JPG

You must forgive me as I missed taking a photo of the Lemon Chicken. We must have been all very ready hungry and forgot to take a photo. The Lemon Chicken from the restaurant is superb and my son even asked me we can we order again. I tried cooking Lemon Chicken before and the taste is close enough. Maybe I will try to share the recipe sometime.

P1560101.JPG

As a surprise there was a delivery guy that dropped off a box of pizza. I didn't know who it was from. We were thinking that maybe it was a wrong delivery but a few minutes later my friend sent me a msg.
"Happy Birthday to your Daughter and enjoy the pizza"

My buddy from the office whom I have not seen in person for over a year now since the pandemic.
It pleases me to know that a lot of people still care and try to connect in their own way.
Like sending you a free pizza.

P1560102.JPG

No birthday is complete without the Happy Birthday song, the blowing for the candles and the wish.
I asked her what her wish was and she said.
"I wish for Hive to go the moon!"
Now that is something we all wish for.

P1560214.JPG

P1560336.JPG

As we finished our birthday celebration meal. Her classmate dropped by and left her some presents.
Little things like stickers, hair clips and a cute wallet. This completely made her day.
I am glad I succeeded in making her smile on her special day even though we are locked up at home for her birthday.

She may no longer be in her teens but she will always my little girl.

P1560342.JPG

4.png

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Olympus 45mm f1.8

hive youtube.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency