ANTHOLOGY OF MICRO-STORIES | SMILE

photo_20210226_110417.jpg


«Remembrance is the invisible presence».


— Victor Hugo

photo_20200731_202247.jpg

SMILE

I have always been bothered by Lisandra's physical appearance, not because she is ugly but because she is beautiful; her dazzling golden hair and perfect physiognomy of eyes, nose, mouth, cheeks and chin, have generated in me a stigma of aberration. It all started when I first saw her moving into my neighborhood. She and her perfect husband bought the nicest house at the end of the block.

Like any curious woman I peeked in to inquire, finding a young couple; overflowing with energy and vitality. Seeing Lisandra's charming gestures I was transfixed, as she sublimely walked down the sidewalk across the street from their new home. They boasted a beautiful new car, accompanied by a large truck carrying their luxurious things: "a wealthy and beautiful family," I thought.

I didn't pay much attention to her husband, for it was Lysandra and her beauty that impressed me. Her emerald eyes sparkled with the luminous amber of that afternoon, and it was there when she exhibited her most deadly weapon; that smile that enraptured even the most distracted person.

The neighbors did not stop looking at them, I perceived with heavy intensity a need to want to approach them. They looked at them with curiosity, but I'm sure not as much as I did. Lysandra's smile had left me inert, blurred, dead, abstracted from this flimsy reality wishing I wanted to cross that door of beauty.

Oh, what a beautiful smile, I couldn't resist and anxiety gnawed at me. It was wide, dimpled, adorned with perfect ivory white teeth, I wanted it, I wanted it for myself! I felt sunken, faded, tied to an ominous reality in which I was part of. I looked in the mirror in pain and felt ugly, sad and exhausted. I knew I could not resist this calamity.

It didn't take long for an idea to take root in my mind. I picked up a sharp kitchen knife that was sticking out towards my face, inciting me to commit a ferocious daring. I stood in front of the mirror and spread my cheeks, from the edges of my mouth, and formed a beautiful, imposing smile.

I was bleeding out but I didn't care, I admired myself in the mirror and felt happy. I was no longer surrounded by darkness. Now I could compete against Lysandra and her lavish beauty. I copied her smile.

THE END


Written by @universoperdido. February 26, 2021


The cover photo is my own, taken with a moto e4 cell phone and edited with PhotoScape and Snapseed.

photo_20200731_202247.jpg


Previous stories

EL INTRUSO


¿Eres escritor? ¿No encuentras un lugar adecuado para colocar tus trabajos literarios? Unete a Literatos, una comunidad en Hive donde puedes publicar tus cuentos, poemas, ensayos literarios y novelas inéditos de tu propia autoría.



GIFs elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency