Dresser Makeover

engaged!.jpg
Hello.
I love transformation projects. During the periods I wrote, I would occasionally share something on this topic. During these times when I was away from here, I started to transform old items as I found time. Since painting small things does not require courage, I would do it with my eyes closed, but I never had the courage to embark on large furniture. A few years ago, we bought a bookcase, showcase, console, buffet from a second-hand furniture store. We gave them a total of 500 TL. Although the furniture was old-fashioned, it was considered completely new so I did not tweak it for a while. More precisely, I did not dare. In the past months I have decided to renew this furniture. Whatever the outcome, I wanted to do this. I first started this work from the console.

20200409_150050.jpg
We decided on the color with my mother. I researched it and found that the Cadence brand is pretty good at this type of renewal. That's why we chose Cadence varnish and paint.
Other materials required while painting;

  • 2 plastic plates to pour paint and remove excess.
  • A rustproof cloth or an unused piece of old rag (so that the paint does not get on the floor)
  • 1 cat. :)

1.jpg

We chose damson color as the color. Since I was not sure how much paint would go, I chose the 500ml one. About 200ml of product remained in the bottle. Since I do not like very bright varnish, I preferred the 260ml semi-matte one. Another important thing we will need while painting is a sponge roller. I usually prefer sponge rolls. It helps me paint the surface smoother. When I tried it with a brush, there were brush marks on it. Maybe I can use the brush for primer in other paints. You should definitely choose a sponge roll. Sometimes products to be painted with a brush may come out. In such cases, choose silk brushes. Since their structure is softer, it will not leave much traces. Before I started painting, I didn't need to sand it because the furniture was smooth. I just dusted it off with a clean cloth. (If the surface you are going to paint is not like this, you have to sand it first.)

20200409_184907 (1).jpg
I poured the paint on a plate and loaded it onto the sponge roller. After making sure to feed it all over, I took the excess in another plate with back and forth movements. I applied the paint on the sponge to the surface to be painted without pressing too much. What you see in the picture is that I applied the second coat. I cannot share the single floor state as I do not think I will share it here, but as you can see on the second floor, it has completely closed. I put the last coat and let it dry completely.

Important Note; It is necessary not to apply the paint to too much surface while painting. The thinner layer you apply, the less distortion between layers. Generally, it is recommended to wait 24 hours between layers. I applied one coat in the evening, one coat in the morning, I did not have any problems. You guys should wait 24 hours just in case and throw the other layer in that way.

cats.jpg

I wanted to make a change to the glass cover of the console. While waiting for the ready-made paint to dry, I started repairing the cover. I really like rattan products. Since it was new at that time, it was both difficult and expensive to find a masterpiece. I started researching what I could find near him on the internet. While I was visiting sites like N11-Gittigidiyor, I found pieces called separators. Although they were not exactly the same, they were alike. I ordered parts that fit my cap size. I removed the glass from the cover frame, added the separator with the help of glue and painted it with the same color paint. I can say that it adds a very different atmosphere to the console.

20-04-18-20-42-55-663_deco.jpg

After the paint was completely dry, I applied the varnish. 3 coats of varnish will be sufficient. I varnished every part of it in 2 layers except the top. Since the top coat will be used more, I applied 3 coats of varnish. The same rule applies between varnishes. One coat needs to be applied every 24 hours. Again, I was impatient and varnished every 6 -7 hours. I bought a suitable handle from the internet for a complete furniture replacement. After varnish I put on the covers and handles.
And the result!
My first furniture painting experience was successful. It's been 8 months since I dyeed my dresser. I did not experience any vomiting or paint removal on the furniture. I hope this article has helped you. You can comment on any question you have in mind. I will gladly answer. After this successful experience, I continued with different furniture. I decided to change my living space. Follow me to see them.

With love
Tugba

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency