SB19's "WHAT?" Made Me Go "WHAT???" (Music Video/Song Review and Personal Thoughts)



It's been almost a week since their latest music video was released on their official YouTube channel. Ever since that night, I have been checking the video on YouTube or listening to their song on Spotify every day. It's not because I'm a fan (well, that's part of it), but it's because their newest song pierces through the heart.

When it comes to songs or music, I often choose something I can jam to. However, another thing that makes me listen to the song repeatedly would be its lyrics. I like songs with a heavy message... songs that would make me wake up and think about life. And I was able to experience such through SB19's latest song, "WHAT?"

For starters, let me show you the official music video. Turn on the subtitle or translation in English since the song is in my language, FIlipino.



VIDEO SOURCE


Reaching its sixth day after the release, the music video has reached more than four million views. Their target was to get a million views in 24 hours, but they did much better by hitting a million views in 17 hours. How did I know? I was personally waiting... Here was my screenshot.



image.png



I was pretty curious as to when they're going to reach their goal. Since I was streaming the video again and again, I noticed that around lunch the next day (the video was released last March 9, 7PM PH time), they already had 989k. After watching it once, I refreshed the page and it was 998k... and I refreshed it once more, voila!!! It reached 1M views. Them exceeding their goal wasn't really a surprise because I know that they deserve it.



Now, let's talk about the song!

[Reference: AZLyrics and Genius ]

Nagsimula na pero wala na 'kong balak na tapusin
'Di ibig sabihin 'pag 'di tinapos, ako'y hihinto na rin
Alam ko naman na 'di ako'ng pinaka ano? Magaling
Got no Biz with all of you please. Destiny's I'll be better and...

[Verse: Pablo]
It already started, but I have no plans to finish this anymore
Not finishing this doesn't mean I'm going to stop
I know I'm not what you call the best
Got no biz with all of you, please, destiny's I'll be better and...)



The first verse was sung by Pablo, SB19's leader. I really like the part when they were simply walking and he suddenly turned back at the camera and started rapping. It caught me of guard and I just love how he delivered the first few lines.

It's just the first few lines and it got me thinking, "That's true... not finishing something doesn't mean we're going to stop." Sometimes, we need to pause to think. This temporary halt can allow us to see a clearer picture of what's around us and think of our next move. I always believe that dreams come true, it might be postponed at some point, but when you work hard for it, it won't be impossible to achieve.

Lahat ng aking basura
Pupulutin, laging dala
Kahit san pa 'ko magpunta
Lapat sa lupa aking mga paa

[Refrain: Ken]
I'll pick up all of my trash
Always bringing it with me wherever I go
My feet will stay steady on the ground



In order to succeed, he have to stay grounded and always keep our feet on the ground. To do this, we have to embrace all our flaws and imperfection. Let's not discard them, instead, let's live stronger by picking them and keeping them wherever we go. They will help us grow but with humility.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE

In the video, Ken was sitting in a throne made of trash. He used his flaws and all the negativity thrown at him as his stepping stone to get him to the top. Ahh~ this concept is just so awesome! Also, Ken's deep voice really stood out.

Mahiwaga, bawat nakasarang bintana
Sakin dati, lahat ngayo'y nagbubukas
(Oh whoa oh oh)
Daming sakuna, 'di ko ininda
Andito na 'ko, sa wakas!
What?

[Pre-Chorus: Justin, Stell]
Magical, every closed window at me before
Are all now opening up (oh-whoa-oh-oh)
So many tragedies, didn't budge me
I am finally here (what?)



Opportunity knocks only once? Well, that's true... but haven't you thought that you can also create your own opportunities? If we focus on improving ourselves and become the better version of ourselves, then this will open multiple windows and doors.

Of course, it's never easy. I always say this and will keep on saying this "It's JUST difficult, BUT NEVER impossible!" If we believe in ourselves and pair it with hard work and dedication, everything else would follow and finally come into place.

By the way, the transitions and the visual effects used in the video are truly artistic! Justin, the youngest member, is apparently the creative director of this video. He's really got it! ^^

Pare-parehas lang tayong may pagkakaiba diba?
Ika nila, ibang mundo nakikita niya
Mabuting iba, di' gaya nila
Pikit ang mata, ang tama, wala. Ahhh?
20 - 20, paulit-ulit
Intelihente, subalit ngunit
Basag ang lente, pinunit punit
Hinubog ng dalagang bakal, sirit tssss

*[Verse: Josh]
We all have our own differences
You see? They say he sees a different world
Well, it's good unlike them
Who closed their eyes to the truth, ha
[Verse: Josh]
Twenty-twenty, it keeps repeating
Intelligent but, but
Wears a broken lens, torn off
Raised and molded by the iron maiden, hiss (tsss)



We all close our eyes to the truth sometimes because of standards. I believe that we are all unique and we could all excel in our own ways, however, unfortunately, we are somehow blinded by standards! Ugh! I hate it... Because of this, I try to deviate from the norms and do what makes me happy. I accept who I am and continue to make myself better not for others sake, but for myself. Is it selfish? I don't think so.

image.png


Josh's visual in this video is awesome! Because of that, when I was watching their video, I decided to sketch him. His rap part is as awesome as always. By the way, Josh is someone who has started from the bottom until he reached where he is now. He started working various jobs at 16 in order to continue living... his best friend's parents even thought of adopting him and helping him go to school, but he humbly refused because there is a certain path that he wants to go to. And this is it. Well, as he always say, this is still a start of something greater.


'Wag n'yong sabihin sa'kin
Kung ano'ng aking dapat gawin
'Di naman kayo natutong makinig
(Oh whoa oh oh)
San man dalhin ng hangin
Ang aking yagit suot parin
Di mag papanggap na ako pero hindi
(Oh whoa oh oh)
Daming sakuna,'di ko ininda
Andito na 'ko sa wakas

[Bridge: Justin, Pablo, Ken]
Don't tell me what I should do
You don't even learned how to listen (oh-whoa-oh-oh)
Wherever the wind takes me, I will always wear my garbage
I won't pretend someone I'm not (oh-whoa-oh-oh)
So many tragedies, didn't budge me
I am finally here



This is definitely my favorite line as well as my favorite part of the song and video. While singing the bridge part, they were all walking forward while a lot of other people were walking the opposite way. I just find it so meaningful. It's similar to Josh's part... nobody should dictate us on what to do. We shouldn't pretend to be someone else just to be accepted. Let's always be ourselves... let's struggle until we reach our goals together with our flaws. I was so teary-eyed when I watched this part the first time.

And finally, the chorus!


'Di na bala para iangat ang bandera
Bara na sa puso nyo na ang tatama
Ama! Salamat at ikaw ang agimat
Bawat banat, iwagayway mo ang watawat
Wha-wha-wha-wha-what? Watawat
Wha-wha-wha-wha-what? Watawat
'Di na magpapa-what? Paawat
Iwawagayway ang watawat

[Chorus: Ken, Pablo, Stell]
Don't need bullets just to raise the flag
These bars will hit all your hearts instead (bang)
Father, thank you for being my amulet
In every hit, proudly swing your flag
[Hook: Josh, Justin]
Wo-wo-wo-wo-wo, flag
Wo-wo-wo-wo-wo, flag
Won't let anyone (what?), stop me
I will proudly swing my flag



A lot of people think that the "flag" mentioned in the song is the Philippine flag since SB19 is promoting their own brand which is P-pop. I somewhat agree, but there is more to it than that. This flag represents our own life and choices.

This song really encouraged me in a lot of ways. It made me want to pursue my dreams more and influence people in my own way. I want people to be themselves and find the happiness that they deserve in life. We all have our own definition of happiness, so we shouldn't tell what others should or shouldn't do. It also applies to ourselves. Be who you want to be! Love yourself.

In addition, there was this line in the song Ama! Salamat at ikaw ang agimat which translates Father, thank you for being my amulet in English. I may not be religious, but I believe in God. It's just too overwhelming to know that despite their current success, they never failed to be thankful. A lot of people only remember God or someone when they need something, but when they got what they need, they simply move on and forget. Be it God or some mere humans, as long as you have received help from someone, be sure to be grateful. <3

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE


When I saw this statement by Pablo, SB19's leader, co-producer of the music video and writer of its lyrics, I thought "I stan the right group!". It's not just about being idols... they're humans who are promoting self-empowerment and self-love. Through their platform, they encourage people to be themselves despite all the struggles.

I have only been a fan of SB19 for more than a year, but they're truly inspiring! When they haven't made a name for themselves, a lot of people like the media or the press or people in the entertainment industry were ridiculing them. They said they won't succeed because they aren't original... only Justin has a fanbase... they won't last long... and all the other hurtful comments. BUT WHERE ARE THEY NOW??? SB19 is paving the way for P-pop and on their way for world domination. It won't be easy, of course... but I am with them throughout the way. I'm a proud A'TIN after all.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE

Together with SB19, I'll raise my own flag as well!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency