ENERGY REFILL CONTEST - Round 08 [ENG-ESP] | Filter Out What Matters You a Lot

image.png

"We may not reach our destination if we stop to throw stones at every dog that barks at us"
-Winston Churchill


Matching with Real Life

Before going to more details, let me tell a story from my real life, which comes to my mind when reading this quote.

In our education system we have an examination in grade 11 and according to it's result, we can select a stream to further study. The students those who get best results of this examination, can apply for schools which are considered as famous and which are considered as best.

I had the best result of my school and my determination was following Physical Science stream (Chemistry, Physics and Combined Maths) and selecting to the University in first attempt to give a victory to my school. Most of my colleagues went to better schools. In that time others including my relations, neighbors, friends and even their parents forced me to go for a 'famous school'. Their point was, "No one from your school selected to University recently from Physical Science Stream, and if you stay here, you can't either". Some said there are no good teachers, some said there is no competition in current school.

image.png

At the moment, they tried to change my mind. I stopped for a while and took time to think the consequences of responding to their arguments. I realized that, replying them will hurt them or just in case if I fail to achieve my target, they will point at me and talk against me. I decided to response their arguments with a smile and said "Yes I am still thinking. Give me time".

I had my own reasons to my decision and I believed these problems will matters me a lot that things others say. As an example, if I go to a other school, I have to spend a long time for traveling and it makes me tired. Also it wastes time. I have to make friends from 0 and also it is a pressure to adapting a new college.

I let them to talk (bark) even there were many bad rumors against me. Sometimes I herd them by my own ears. They said that I don't move to another school because I'm not really talented. Some said I stay in current school because I have special benefits from teachers.

Think.... How humans paying more attention on un related matters for them?

I worked more, to show them that they are wrong. I didn't answer them but I worked a lot by my self to achieve my target. Finally I selected to University in attempt when the friends who left the school couldn't make it.


Now let's match my story with the quote of Mr. Winston Churchill. My destination was selecting to University in first attempt. The two years I spent for studies is the road. Barks are the possible risks and problems that I had (e:, No teachers, No competition, Rumors, Lack of Time, Tiredness,) . I didn't spent my time to argue with them or to give examples to others statements. Which means I ignored barks and went my journey on my way.

If I did argue with them, it makes me more enemies and more make more rumors about me. Answering to rumors and showing my innocence takes time. I spent whole my time to study which only mattered to my success and reached my target.

image.png

In the general case, dogs means problems that we face during our journey. There are some problems that don't affect us badly. We can ignore such problems and save our time to focus on critical things which can affect to our desire.

Matching with Pareto Principle

If you aware about "Pareto Principle", as conclusion, it says, 80% of consequences are coming from 20% of things we did. Which means we don't have to unnecessarily worry about rest of 80% we do.

image.png


Understanding what matters and what is not is up to our situation. We have to be careful and always should focus on destination rather than getting distracted by other obstacles.

Thank You for Reading.


All photos and sketches are made by me. I made this blog for ENERGY REFILL CONTEST - Round 08 [ENG-ESP] by @tripode

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency