Garden Update | Growing Bitter Melon | Seeds to Week 1.

Growing bitter melon is not tough. You need enough sunlight and space. It grows well without any active care. Otherwise, I may not be able to grow this on my balcony.

IMG_20210627_152820.jpg

Just like the year before, I'm growing some more this year too. Last year there were only 3 in my balcony garden. But as I changed my living place and now it's a bigger house, so I'm hopeful that I can grow some more here.

But it's not about the fruit but about the joy of seeing the plant grow and having more green around us.

Let me share the steps with you.

I didn't preserve any seeds rather you can use any riped bitter melon's seed for growing plants. The germination is super simple.

Take the seed off from the melon, skin of the seed (red portion) and you will find the seeds inside. Let them dry in the sun for a couple of days. They will be ready to plant and grow.

received_203905464942602.jpeg
Seeds with red skin on

received_510145086999591.jpeg
Seeds

Plant the seeds directly on the soil bed. No need to plant them on coconut soils. Water them every other day. It will take the seeds only two or three days to germinate. You will get to see them growing very fast.

IMG_20210626_082041.jpg
Day 3

IMG_20210627_152820.jpg
Day 5

IMG_20210628_131156.jpg
Day 7

I also plant some chickpeas. I will share their process later. This pot is too small to grow all the bitter melon. I will shift them in a bigger pot a few days later.

I hope my small balcony will become full of green leaves of bitter melon in a few days. You can try this way too.

Hive Steem Footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency