Oliver The Kitten

Oliver's friend is @luna30103 on Instagram. You should visit her profile and meet all her cat friends and the guy who takes the pictures and posts on Instagram and feeds her and her homeless friends. This painting is a gift to Stuart, who selflessly takes care of his neighborhood stray cats.

img_2385.heic

8 x 11 inches, mixed media paper, watercolor 12/02/21

Right now, you see a messy gray coat on the cat, and his proportions are messed up. I will be adding the top coat of hair, and the kitty will look nice and neat, and all his points will add up. You know, paw to shoulder, chin to nose to eye to ear.

I am working on the last layer of paint.

img_2372.heic

I am working on the foreground wet-on-wet. I'm trying to get a mossy-looking ground.

I also started defining and refining the leaves and beads. Compare the right side of the circle of beads in the middle to the left. I'm going to do that to all the beads. I'm also adding darker/lighter colors for depth. I'll finish up the hair on the cat last.

img_2348.jpg

I am applying the second layer of watercolor. I am mapping out leaf color and design to add the second layer of paint. In the third layer, I will add shadows and highlights. I use gouache, an opaque watercolor, to add the details and highlights. Usually, start with the eyes when painting. When they come alive, I know I'm in the right place, and the piece will turn out.

img_2339.heic

I will be adding opaque watercolor called gouache for details. When working with watercolor, you work from light to dark, adding layers as you go. You can work wet on wet, which causes a defused look, or work in extreme detail painting over dry paint.

img_2332.jpg

I listened to (audio while I work) "Snow Crash" by Neal Stephenson.

The story is about the metaverse and a virus that infects the net and the people in our 3d world. It is relevant to today's insanity in entertainment, news, and the internet.

I'm using a Dzi Bead design. From Wiki: "Dzi bead (Tib. གཟི།; pronounced "zee"; alternative spelling: gzi) is a type of stone bead of uncertain origin worn as part of a necklace and sometimes as a bracelet. In several Central Asian cultures, including that of Tibet, the bead is considered to provide positive spiritual benefit."

some_textA link to My Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency