My girlfriend was away for two weeks so I made cookies for her return!

Preface

My girlfriend recently went away and was gone for two weeks. She was visiting her family which she barely gets to see these days with the pandemic going on. It was quite important for her to take that trip.

Our apartment is barely 50 square meters and with lockdowns coming and going like the milkman getting some alone time is really precious. As much as we love each other being away from each other and getting some alone time is still important.

This means I've had two full weeks to myself which was great! I've been able to focus 100% on myself. I loved it. I've been eating all the junky food from my single life days, I've been playing video games and of course I've been blogging here on Hive.

Luckily I've had our cat Leo to keep me company. Two weeks alone wasn't lonely at all with this guy at my side. I feel like we've managed to bond a little bit extra when having all this time to ourselves. He's been approaching me a lot more than he's used to. Begging for cuddles and candy. Great progress seeing as he's quite a scared and sceptic cat.

IMG_1431.JPEG

Missed anniversary

While being alone for a while was great it was just as great to have my girlfriend return. While she was away we actually passed our three year anniversary of being together. Since that was the case I wanted to do something a little special for her return. I made cookies!

I decided to not go over the top seeing as we're going out to eat come the weekend for a proper celebration. Cookies were that perfect little thing. They're easy to make and who doesn't love to be surprised by freshly baked brownie cookies?

cookie.PNG


The Recipe

It's quite the simple recipe. It can be found here although it's in Norwegian. I'll do you all the service of translating it.

Ingredients:

  • 50 grams of butter
  • 200 grams of dark chocolate
  • 2 eggs
  • 1,5 decilitres of sugar
  • 2 decilitres og flour
  • half a teaspoon og baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla-flavored sugar

What to do

  1. Smelt the butter in a caserole and add the coursely chopped chocolate. Pull the caserole off the plate and stir while the chocolate smelts. Let it cool while you move on.
  2. Whisk eggs and sugar until it's light and airy.
  3. Add flour, baking powder and the vanilla-flavored sugar.
  4. Add the chocolate and mix. Let the dough cool off in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. It should be easy to work with and not to sticky.
  5. Make balls out of the dough and push them down a little bit on a baking tray with baking paper.
  6. Put them in the oven at 175 ℃ for 15-20 minutes. They should have a nice crust but still be soft on the inside.
  7. Let them cool on the tray for a while and move them to a grate to get fully cold.

I made 12 cookies with this recipe.

I don't know if vanilla-flavored sugar is actually a thing in countries outside og Scandinavia. I'm sure it can be left out or exchanged with vanilla extract.

IMG_3519.jpeg


Cookies, games and cuddles

Just before she left we found out that the new Super Mario™ 3D World + Bowser’s Fury game was releasing in just a couple of days. We agreed that we would play it together when she returned. We both love the Super Mario franchise and it was part of our early bonding. We played Super Mario Odyssey and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe for hours on end in the first months of our relationship. We still play both of them every now and then.

Needless to say we were super excited to see this release. Even if it's a re-release it was new to us. I decided it was perfect for us to play some Mario while enjoying the cookies. I bought and downloaded the game for the Nintendo Switch and had it ready for when she arrived.

The cookies were a success! They were delicious and she was both surprised and excited. Doubly so when she saw what was up on the TV. We dug right into the cookies and didn't hesitate to get the new Super Mario adventure underway. I might write a first impressions post about the game over at the Hive Gaming community. We'll see.

mario.PNG

If you're in doubt what you should do today go do something for someone you love!


Follow me on Twitter!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency