My 11 days at the Intensive Care Covid Department

IMG_20210321_174206.jpg

It happened to me absolutely unexpectedly - after three fantastic days in Tallinn I started feeling tickling in the throat, then a slight cough. The test for covid was positive, but I myself felt that I had been infected. I do not know if I can blame my GP that I stayed at home for 12 days in a very weak condition. She said it is nothing special. Luckily, I decided to call the ambulance and was immediately transported to hospital.

The top picture shows how I look now - in the intensive care department. They have been pumping oxygen inside this helmet so I can breathe. The terrible thing is that both my lungs are nearly totally affected by the virus which means that I can't breathe without oxygen support. With this help I feel better at the moment. The personal here is extremely helpful, they even managed to wear mey glasses inside the helmet, so I can read and write at the moment.

IMG_20210319_175932.jpg

That is now. But before I went through the hospital admission department with a complete examination, including a huge number of blood tests and an X-ray taken in the same room.

IMG_20210313_123145.jpg

The strange thing was the sheet of golden foil, which I was covered with instead of a blanket. Surprisingly, it was warm.

IMG_20210313_115801.jpg

After checking, I was transported to the unit for basic treatment, but things went worse. So one more transportation to the unit with better oxygen support and finally the third transportation here, into the intensive care department. A horrible story for me. And the worst thing is that no medication exists against this monstrous disease. All the doctors just repeat that all depends only on me, my body, my soul. And I am doing my best to survive.

The treatment here is not just excellent, it is perfect. Catering is also unbelievable. To survive the patients must be fed properly and tasty to be able to eat in their poor conditions. While in the very first unite, I took some pictures of the meal. I can't take photos of food here, but it is the same, only served not so hommy way. I must say that during my 11-day stay here, the menu was not repeated.

Breakfasts. Porridge, different every time.

IMG_20210316_082425.jpg

IMG_20210315_082933.jpg

Lunches. All soups are cooked on chicken bouillon and are very tasty.

IMG_20210315_122820.jpg

IMG_20210314_125637.jpg

IMG_20210316_123336.jpg

IMG_20210316_123346.jpg

IMG_20210316_123342.jpg

Dinner. Just one picture with pancakes stuffed with meat that time.

IMG_20210315_181520.jpg

I am talking about the food here because I am sure it is extremely important to eat properly to be strong to survive...

I decided to write this post mainly to remind people how insidious, dangerous and unpredictable is this terrible infection that appeared so suddenly in our world. The worst thing is that today you may have an improvement in your condition, and tomorrow (or much earlier!) The virus may attack again.

Please, please, take it seriously. I wish good health to everybody!!!

I want to warn the others that covid is not a myth and MUST be taken seriously. Dear friends, please be very careful and protect yourselves and your families as well as possible.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency