A New Day Dawns

000111700604637_20201005_135336_0000.png

A NEW DAY DAWNS

Change is such a funny thing. We push so hard against it, instead of willingly embracing it. I often wonder why.

3a106f2c3e697b3eac1df86e4cbb4ba3.jpg

Personally I am a creature of habit. The sanctity of sameness brings me a comfort and reassurance of what is to come. Having the same hair stylist for more than 10 years, using the same brand of toothpaste for most of my life, it all adds to the certainty of the outcome I’m looking to achieve. I am sure many of you can relate.

0b78584d7fdb1baa802c62b84ab15fd8.jpg

For the last few weeks I’ve felt like my life has been on a roller-coaster ride that didn’t want to stop. In my head, I knew it would eventually, but looking back at the immediate changes that kept occurring non-stop I felt very moved yet not.

Old me, would definitely have worried and probably have all night think sessions and conversations with myself, but this time around I noticed a distinct difference. It was a subtle calmness and assurance that no matter what was happening around me, it would be ok. Soon the ride would be over - the thing was to make the most of it while it was happening. Laugh instead of scream during the ride. Who would dare do that during a ride with towering plunges and never ending loops? Use the adrenaline rush, not to propagate fear but enjoyment and laughter? Preposterous! Outrageous! Even I myself thought so.

However, the curveball mindset that set in, did just that. I chose to laugh in the midst of my chaos and uncertainty and let me tell you friends - it did a marvellous job of keeping me unafraid, worry-free and hopeful in the midst of the storms.

596e318ab5cc7c25cc1b9df468497f93.jpg

I chose to make the most of the sombre atmosphere and shed light instead. I chose to have fun with my coworkers and leave them better than I found them. I chose not to take the things done to me unjustly personally, and instead wish them well. I chose to see this growing pains, as something that would make me stronger, wiser and better. I used that negative energy that threatened numerous occasions to cripple me and redirected it to positive habits and thinking. I refused to let it get the better of me.

eacad620f90b6862243ee07ac1ed287d.jpg

Yes I embraced the change. Hesitatingly at first but eventually with outstretched arms. Don’t be fooled that I didn’t have that moment when it did topple me, but allowing myself to actually embrace the emotions that came with transition, it allowed for me to grieve what was, let it go and be ready for what was to come. New perspectives and new outlooks and new adventures. Yes a new day has dawned and I look forward to it with utmost excitement !

8ee0a1cdf30ecdcaae00f4278aef239c.jpg

PS - The song that was playing in my head while writing this was Celine Dion’s - A New Day Has Come. Let me know if you’re a Celine fan :)

Toodles
Nixsy <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency