Parent's Expectations from their Children

Stress is one of the most common word in today's time. You even hear the teenagers saying in today's times that they feel stressed. I remember as a kid I never knew the word stress itself. Such was the life. Specially for Children, they are so over burdened with studies and the race to excel that it takes them down mentally. There are many children who cannot keep up to the expectations of their parents, I will not say that Children fail over here, it is the parents that fail in right parenting. Every child has a different capability and if a parent as one does not understand, how would you expect others to understand the same.

Why is it so difficult for parents to accept their kids limitations and not keep comparing them with other children. If every parent starts doing this, the life of all children will be much easier.
Why I write this today?

Quite a few parents come to me for Readings and Healings for their Children. First of all they want to know if their Child will get 1st class grades in exams or not and then they want healing for them, for them to excel in their academics. Personally I do not entertain these things, because every child comes with their own abilities and they do not need any healing, I tell the parent, it is not the child who needs the healing, it is them who needs it most. They have to stop comparing their Children to others.

image.png
Source

The same problem I had with my Sister. My Son was always excelling in academics, whereas her Children were average in studies and she would always tell them, look at Yohan and learn something from him. This is not the right way to counsel children by comparing them with other children. I too wanted my Son to get into the mainstream commercial fields but he chose something very different, that no one ever thought and I had to accept it. I faced a lot of criticism in my family for this and everyone keeps asking me the same thing. What does your Son plan to do? I tell them, he is already doing many things that is beyond your understanding, so don't bother to find out :-)

Maximum parents who come to me, want to check if their children will get admission in A Grade Universities, and they are so desperate about it. Everyone wants to be a part of the rat race.
In India there are some online coaching classes for children which have started recently on teaching them coding. It is insane, and the ads show that a child of 7 -8 years is learning coding. There is nothing wrong in it, if the child has inclination, but I personally believe that, it's not even the right age for them to really understand what they want to do in life, so why are parents so much in hurry. Let the child atleast come to an age where the child can decide what they want to do.

image.png
Source

From a very young age, parents start conditioning their children that they have to become a Doctor, or a Engineer, or a Architect, or anything that hold status in Society, and this is from where the race begins for them. Parents have set these limitations in mind that by certain age they should finish their studies and start earning. I do understand that it is important for them to become independent but sometimes it is ok for parents to support their children till a late age if they are pursuing something which may not be generating as much income as they expected.

I just have to say, let it go little loose with them, do not tie them up very tightly in expectations and burdened them with your own load. Life will give them their share of load at the right time, so they do not need to carry your load as well. It is always good to see children who are more creatively engaged then being buried in books. In their growing up, it is important to nurture their souls rather then worrying about if they will become this or that. Why the hurry?

I believe, let them wander, let them get lost and let them find their own way.

Thank you for visiting my blog. πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ‘ΌπŸ»πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸŒΉπŸŒΊπŸŒΈ

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency