Kaika Hanabi, The Tenyii Slasher


Step 11 Final 1 with Exposure.png






Introduction

I wanted to make a new character for Splinterlands as my next project. I like how the idea of Tenyii Striker having a younger sister but don't know where to start.

While watching this anime, that I forgot the title because I was recalling this from memory, I saw a logo of what looks like an explosion embroidered on this girl's yukata and made me jump in excitement.

This is the story of how Kaika Hanabi, the Tenyii Slasher, was born.






Lore Summary


Mask Lore Red Eyes.png

A tragic princess who are not allowed to step into the battlefield rebelled and found her way through the Hands of Tenyii, a secret organization whose main purpose is protecting her beloved country.

Kaika serves as one of the fingers, or their elites, to exterminate the evil flames from the shadows, and in the future, avenge her brother's death from the cruel Khans and the all powerful Heralds.






Sources and Materials

Below are the materials I used in this art.


Materials Pen Pencil Eraser.png


Materials Colored Pencil.png

This art was also inspired by multiple animes like Kimetsu no Yaiba or Demon Slayer and Naruto. Their sources will be scattered throughout this post.






Step 1 Draft


Step 1 Draft.png

Playing with perspectives, I made Kaika touch the end of her sword readying to strike. I already incorporated the mask so that I wouldn't forget to hide Kaika's right eye.







Step 2 Draft Finish.png

This may be the hardest and most ambitious drawing I've ever made. It may just be that I'm not that good yet but the multiple layers of the outfit, while balancing the size and design of the robe and armor may look easy but not for me.

The outfit is two halves of Japanese armor and shogun clothes that is inspired by multiple animes.






Step 3 Inking


Step 3 Inked.png

Inking, to me, is the hardest and most important part of my art. Like caligraphy, stroke in one clean line. Short strokes may work but it may make your art messy and uneven lines. Do it if it's the type of effect you want to achieve.






Step 4 Coloring Skin


Step 4 Skin.png

I've grown accustomed in using peach and orange for skim and it works great. Peach is used for base color while Orange is used for shadows.






Step 5 Outfit (Inner Shirt and Pants)


Step 5 Inner & Shirt.png

I have 2 choices on these parts, permanent pen or colored pencil. Using permanent pen gives you a solid black and more balanced look. I went for colored pencil just so that it would complement the color of the rest of the outfit.





Step 5a1 Clothes Full Inked.png

The picture above is an unfinished one. Notice the part that there is no design on the left part? This is to show how it would look if Kaika removed the robe part of her outfit.





Step 5b Clothes Left Draw.png

The design reminds me of Naruto's Akatsuki. The lines of incomplete fire logo when looking from the front feels the same. However, it is actually inspired by Kimetsu no Yaiba or Demon Slayer anime.


Demon Slayer Outfit Joom.png
Photo came from Joom which I found in Google Search.

The purplish color expresses majesty and nobility.




Step 5b2 Fire Logo.png

The fire logo is from Splinterlands that can be seen in Tenyii Striker's armor.





Step 5c Clothes Right.png

The drawing above is my take on japanese samurai armor. The idea is also influenced when I saw the anime, Grand Crest, wherein the main character has light armor but have full armor on his left arm to serve as his shield.



Step 5c2 Explosion Logo.png

The explosion logo is also inspired by another anime as well. Unfortunately, I forgot what it was. Coincidentally, it is the same icon for Splinterland's summoners in the filter section.





Step 5d Clothes Full.png

This is the full outfit. The inner short is black cotton, same with Kimetsu no Yaiba. Kaika is also wearing wooden sandals and straws on her ankles for a more eastern authentic feel.






Step 6 Katana


Step 6 Sword.png

Katana is a type of sword with a long blade and one sharp side.

I used the flaming design same found on Tenyii Striker's art and added a brighter flame inside using a red Dong-A Fine Tech Pen.

The blade is transparent red like a tinted glass that is stronger than steel but more fragile than diamond.

A more vivid description of its origin and lore will be provided in another post.






Step 7 Hair


Step 7 Hair.png

Combination of red, orange and yellow allows the color of what looks like flames. A part of eyes are hidden for a very specific reason that can be found on Kaika Hanabi, the Tenyii Slasher's lore.






Step 8 Mask


Step 8 Mask Draw.png

The mask is supposed to be a Kitsune (fox) mask. They are the same with the ones used in Japanese Festival. It is inspired by both Kimetsu no Yaiba and Naruto's Anbu Masks.



Photo came from Amino Apps and Shinobi Striker Wiki, respectively, which I found in Google Search.

Same with the katana, there would be a significant role these masks would make in the future especially that damaged part.

Lastly, the design in Kaika's mask is actually Splinterland's icon or logo put sideways. I'm not sure but I think it's called "Splinter Bites."






Step 9 Fully Colored


Step 9 Full Colored.png

This would be how everything would form altogether. I also added the red eyes using Dong-A Fine Tech Red to finish the base drawing.

I would like to emphasize that Kaika's sword is of glass type. That is the reason why you can see the lines of her body through her sword. It is transparent and tinted with light red.






Step 10 Background


Step 10 Background.png

Honestly speaking, I'm really bad with backgrounds. I would like to put her in the middle of bamboo forest but since I made the base drawing first, I cannot put a layer in front of Kaika. Instead, I decided to make a big dojo instead.



Step 10a Colored BG.png

The floor arches to represent the huge interior. Remember how he horizon bends when your eyes cannot see the rest? the idea would be the same.

A logo of fire splinter with supposedly 6 spirals around representing other clans / elements.

Green floor and brown corners are used to accentuate the room.I chose to not fully color the room and only represent it instead to not overpower the colorful base of Kaika Hanabi.






Step 11 Effects

Before adding the final effects, I added more blacks on the hair using my style and some blacks on the body / outfit itself.


Step 11 Final 1 with Exposure.png

On this first final product, I added more vibrance on the colors using my phone's built in photo editor.





Step 12 Final 2 with Effects.png

On this 2nd photo, I added another effect. The effect is named Latte and it gave the work an authentic Manga feel.

The border is also from the same app and the looks complemented so I added it out.





Step 11 Final 3 Camera Angle.png

Lastly, even though I consider this one as a fail because of poor lighting, I would be adding it here for potential. Maybe someone will find inspiration or maybe I myself may use it in the future.







Author's Notes



Aqua Teacher.png

This piece took me longer than I expected. While the art itself got finished in around 3 - 4 days including all the concept and redrawing, the lore and making the step by step instructions, explaining my thought process made it longer and I was only able to finish it after 2 weeks.

However, I really like how it went down and I would probably make some long projects like this in the future because as much as it feels more difficult, seeing the finished product including all the lore was far more satisfying than anything I've made so far.







Disclaimer

  1. This post is an entry for Splinterland's art contest.
  2. Other sources that I do not own are cited under their respective photos.
If I seem to forget to cite other sources, this would be unintentional. Please leave it on the comments below to be added in the post. Thanks

If you're interested in playing the game, support me by registering using my referral link here


That's all from me right now. Expect more awesome projects in the future.


Have Fun Drawing!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency