Were You Seen By Your Peers As A Leader Or A Better Follower?

I have been able to meet a lot of people in my lifetime and I can assure you that whenever you ask these people about me, what you will hear from each of them will not be far from the truth about me.

This is also applicable to everyone of us and it shows that people's conception about us is in line with whom we are and how we act. If people see you as a leader then, you are truly doing something that qualifies you for that designation. The same thing is applicable of people see you as an intelligent person, wise person, brave person, Etc, Etc

Let me tell you about me;

I was introduced into this world as the first child in a family of five children and I believe that it was the starting point of my role as a leader. It may look like a mild experience of what leadership is all about but I have never seen it that way.

I saw it as my responsibility to take care of my siblings whenever my parents were not around. I taught them a lot about morality and I always made myself available to listen to their complaints. I was both a brother, leader, teacher and disciplinarian to them.

At that point, being a leader was a role that I received by nature and I have been playing that role convincingly but that also begs the question;

What would have been the case if people were given an opportunity to either tag me a leader or a follower?

pexelspixabay356079.jpg
Image Source

Nobody just walks up to your door and ask you to lead them. You need to show that you have what it takes to lead and you also need to declare your intention to be in that position.

That is the current trend and it was also this way when l was a kid. I never declared interest to be in any leadership position so I was always okay with being the follower in my school and religious gatherings.

Despite being a casual member in these formal settings, I was always being nominated by my peers to represent them whenever a group task pops up. I also gave them listening ears and gave them guidance to the best of my little knowledge.

Alot of my peers know me as someone that have the qualities needed to play any role that I'm giving. I have been their mate on several occasions and their leader in other occasions. I sincerely can't say how effective l was as either a leader or as a follower but l'm sure that my peers enjoyed having me in all these positions.

In your case, did your peers see you as a leader or a follower?

junho7XbXlLD9S6cunsplash.jpg image Source

How do you think that they formed that opinion about you?

HiveDivider_sm.png

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma.

Crossposted from my blogpage in another site.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency