The rough side of being in the creative industry.

Creativity, as far as I can tell, has always been a high-risk high-return thing to explore and the major reason for that is that it's not easy to monetize a lot of these creative endeavours. It's even more complex when you consider how competitive the creative industry can be.

hand-g8d6d30ff2_640.jpg

During my days at Uni, I came across so many people who were in touch with their creative side. I believe most of them had the potential to be good writers, music composers, photographers and artists. I watched them do really good work, yet they had a rough time monetizing their creativity.

The narrative was that these folks are creative, so hitting it big wouldn't be a problem. But, that wasn't the reality. Many didn't go further in exploring their creative side because they were getting close to nothing after stretching their creativity. Some had to let go of that creative side and switched to other areas of life.

You can say all you want about them 'giving up on their passion', but, can we completely blame them?
I don't think so!

It's really difficult to do something creative and monetize it.

So, you are an artist... Well, how many artists are in the world? You have to deal with that competition and you have to go through the process of marketing your work and co. It's not an easy thing to do especially when you don't even have a place to display your creative work and monetize it.

The availability of places like Hive is making it easier for all creatives to put their work out there and stand a higher chance of monetizing their creativity.

The competitive nature of the creative industry is still visible at the moment, but when it comes to what happens on Hive, it seems fairly obvious that it's more collaborative than competitive. Most of us here do what we are good at; writing, painting, podcasting, and vlogging, and we get support from others in the blockchain who find our work appealing.

I found out about Hive after my Uni days and I still wonder if things would have been different for all those creative folks I met back then if they knew of the existence of a place like this where they can start monetizing their creative work without too many complexities.

The ironic thing about the creative works I do now (Writing, Video editing and Graphic designing) is that I never knew I had it in me when I was still in Uni. Back then, I was all about academics while studying Banking and Finance. Thankfully, a creative opportunity presented itself when I finished school and that was how I started a new journey in the creative industry.

My creativity has been an astonishing discovery and the journey so far has been a delectable adventure.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma
Thumbnail Image is taken from Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency