Wednesday Walk: walking to the pier, เดินเล่นไปท่าเรือ

It was late in the afternoon, but I needed a walk to be near the river. I haven’t been to the small pier by the oldest hotel in Bangkok almost a year. So it’s time to check out this pier and its surroundings by the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. I realised that all the shops along the way, including coffee shops and restaurants would be closed during the lockdown. But this quiet atmosphere would give me the opportunity to take my time in observing changes and take some photos. The walk from the car park at the mall took me about ten minutes to reach Soi Charoenkrung 40. The afternoon sky suddenly became cloudy as I was complaining about the heat. Someone heard my wish but I hoped it wouldn’t rain on me instead.

img_2537.jpg

The narrow road leading towards the pier had no traffic only parked cars. All the small jewelry shops and silk shops were still closed. The old Thai style shop looked rather sad and abandoned. This shop used to be very luxuries and always full of foreign tourists. The architecture of this shop imitated that of traditional Thai temple. I remembered that all staff were in traditional Thai costumes and they all seemed so beautiful. I often looked through the glass panel and got very excited by all the antique objects inside. So, it was rather sad for me to see the empty shop with no merchandise and people inside.

img_2560.jpg

img_2561.jpg

img_2559.jpg

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel is only twenty steps from this Thai shop. This hotel is just over 150 years old so it is the oldest hotel in Siam. It was voted one of the best hotels several years ago. Most old fashion royalties from overseas liked to stay at this hotel as the service was one of the best. The restaurants there also had very famous chefs from France and Hong Kong. I used to get invitations from foreign embassies to parties in the ball rooms. Those were the good old days when I had friends at embassies. I still like this small hotel better than other bigger and more modern hotels. I often got lost in big hotels. The garden in this hotel is really fabulous but I could not enjoy afternoon tea in the hotel garden any more.

img_2554.jpg

img_2553.jpg

Opposite the hotel, the old Renaissance designed buildings were looking more tattered than last year. This row of European looking building was built in 1891 so these are about 130 years old. The whole complex was originally the location of the famous East Asiatiic Company; a Dutch company that came to do logging in Siam in the old days. I bet lots of old furniture in Holland and Europe were made from Thai teak wood. Now these dilapidating buildings belonged to a business tycoon who was supposed to renovate these old listed buildings. I hope one day he would be able to invest in a major renovation project.

img_2552.jpg

img_2551.jpg

I felt very odd waking along the quiet road without any visitors, but I could feel there were people looking at me. I tried to spot some cctv but they were quite well hidden. Any way, I just acted like a Korean tourist taking photos of trees, cars, statues and surrounding architecture. Most security guards would talk to me in English, they would tell me that I could not enter to take my photos!! It was funny how I had to pretend to be foreign tourist most of the time.

img_2550.jpg

img_2556.jpg

I was looking forwards to having some ice cream or cold drink at some vendors’ stalls in front of the pier. But I was sorely disappointed, small vendors have given up trying to do business under the lockdown. Those tyrannical technocrats working in collusion with drug businesses have succeeded in harming small businesses. Big businesses have recently told the government ‘no more lockdown!’ These businessmen were quite disappointing, their intelligence units were not at all witty and nimble.

img_2557.jpg

img_2558.jpg

My friend told me how they were all caught unaware during the big economic crash years ago. Before the big crash, I did give serious warnings to my family and relatives several months in advance. Unfortunately they all had a meeting over my warnings and decided to ignore them as I had no business degree. They had no idea about the scope of my readings and my obsession with socio-economic issues. There’s something odd about the mentality of older generations of businessmen which I could never understand. These rich tycoons and businessmen tended to be static in their ways of thinking. I was so glad that I didn’t join my family business although I had to pay the price of giving up all potential wealth. Simple life seems to suit me better and very good for my health. Business and politics go hard in hand if one is going to make it big and successful. I could not entertain the thought of mingling with politicians and civil servants with conflict of interests.

img_2555.jpg

I did wonder why these old buildings always conjured up old and forgotten memories about my families. I did try to warn some of them from time to time about impending changes in business environment and new technologies. I even suggested an investment in Bitcoin during periods of slow economic growth. My old Chinese friend told me he regretted not taking my advice over a year ago. I think so many ways of doing business have to be discarded; I often shocked my friends with my opinions. A small group of young people are spearheading a Thai blockchain for future business paradigm. Only big conglomerates are funding this project. Small and medium size businesses will always lose at this game.

img_2549.jpg

img_2547.jpg

The pier was very quiet with a few people waiting for the small ferry for crossing to the other side of the river. The contrast between the Renaissance architecture on this side of the river and the modern skyscrapers on the other side was quite perplexing to me. The whole society seemed to be fragmented into many pieces, each with its own values and aspirations. I could see the painful struggle for survival and success under the prevailing business model and paradigm. I am afraid that failure would hurt thousands of ordinary people and their families.

img_2545.jpg

img_2544.jpg

The only thing I could do was to have quiet walk, take photos and contemplate on compassion. The mega shopping complex called IconSiam is right opposite the Oriental Hotel. It was touted as the most luxurious shopping complex in Thailand; you could buy a Rolls Royce and a yacht there. The famous Chinese tycoon family never imagined that a pandemic could derail their gigantic investment project. I knew something unexpected would happen one day, but I didn’t expect it to arrive so fast. Had they consulted a good astrologer, they could probably see something unbecoming in the near future. I really think that all big projects should have some strong and positive aspects as a backup kind of energy reserves.

img_2526.jpg

img_2540.jpg

My Feng-Shui friend and teacher had taught me some important aspect of the art. The dark clouds in the sky seemed heavy and threatening. The sky gave me a sign that I had to be on my way before a downpour. Looking around the pier and scenery along the river, I thanked the river and Mother Nature for their gifts and nourishment. I also requested for some cosmic energy to heal the whole world.

img_2528.jpg

img_2539.jpg

เราไม่ได้ไปเดินเที่ยวแถวท่าน้ำเล็กๆ ที่อยู่ใกล้กับโรงแรมโอเร็นเต็ลมานานเกือบปีแล้ว เราจึงหาเวลาว่างๆออดไปเดินออกกำลังกายแถวนั้นในบ่ายวันหนึ่ง เราจอดรถยนต์ที่บางรักแล้วเดินไปตามถนนเจริญกรุง ซอย40 ใช้เวลาเดินเกือบสิบนาที ซอยเงียบมาก ไม่มีรถยนต์ผ่านมาเลย มีแต่รถยนต์จอดข้างถนน ร้านเล็กๆที่ขายเครื่องเงินก็ปิด ร้านกาแฟก็ปิด ส่วนร้านไทยโบราณที่เรียนแบบหลังคาวัด ก็เงียบมาก ไม่มีคนมาขายของเลย เพราะลูกค้าก็หายหมด สมัยก่อนร้านนี้เป็นร้านที่สุดหรูในสายตาของเรา คนขายของก็แต่งชุดไทยสวยงามมาก. ของในร้านก็น่าดูมาก จะมีของเก่าสวยๆตั้งโชว์ เราชอบไปยืนดูบรรยากาศในร้านสมัยเป็นนักเรียน เป็นร้านี่เราคิดว่าทันสมัยมาก

img_2532.jpg

img_2527.jpg

เราเดินต่อไปอีกไม่ถึงสามสิบเก้าก็เจอ ทางเข้าโรงแรมโอเร็นเต็นที่มีชื่อเสียง และเป็นโรงแรมที่เก่าแก่ที่สุดในสยาม ปีนี้โรงแรมมีอายุครบ151ปีแล้ว สมัยก่อนเราเคยมาเดินเล่นในสวนและดื่มน้ำชากับเพื่อนในสวน และเคยไปงานปาร์ตี้ที่นั่นบ่อยมาก จนจำทางเดินได้หมด ภัตตาคารที่นั่นมีชื่อเสียงมาก ราคาก็แพงมาก เพื่อนและผู้ใหญ่ชอบไปเลี้ยงอาหารเที่ยงที่นั่น แต่เราไม่ค่อยชอบอาหารฝรั่งแบบประยุกต์เท่าไรนัก เราก็บอกเพื่อนว่าวันหลังขอไปกินข้าวที่ร้านอาหารธรรมดาดีกว่า เพื่อนเราตกใจจนแมบตกเก้าอี้เลย เราอดเข้าไปถ่ายรูปในสวนเพราะ เขาปิดเพราะโควิทกัน

img_2543.jpg

เราถ่ายรูปตึกตรงข้ามที่ดูทรุดโทรมลงไปมาก เจ้าของไม่มีงบประมาณมาทำนุบำรุงตึกโบราณที่มีอายุ130ปีแล้ว ตึกแถวโบราณแบบเรเนซองค์นี้ ถูกออกแบบโดยชาวอิตาลี และเคยเป็นที่ตั้งของบริษัทอิสเอเชียติกของชาวฮอลันดา ทึ่มาทำการสัมปทานป่าไม้ในสยาม โดยส่งออกไม้สักไปยุโรป มองดูสภาพตึกแล้วก็ใจหาย เพราะทำให้เราเห็นความไม่แน่นอนและความเสื่อมในชีวิตของคนนั่นเอง

img_2542.jpg

img_2536.jpg

เราเดินต่อไปที่ท่าน้ำ เราแปลกใจมากที่เรือข้ามฟากยังให้บริการในช่วงนี้. แทบไม่มีคนตามถนนเลย ที่ท่าเรือก็มีคนอยู่สามคน อากาศเริ่มอึมครึม เมฆดำเริ่มมาเต็มท้องฟ้า เรามองดูสยามไอคอนที่อยู่ตรงข้าม ก็อดคิดถึงครอบครัวตนเองไม่ได้ เราเห็นข้อผิดพลาดในวิธีคิดของคนรุ่นเก่า ที่มีความมั่นใจตัวเองมากเกินไป แต่ขาดความรู้และข้อมูลของต่างประเทศ นักธุรกิจรุ่นเก่าจะไม่รู้ว่าคู่แข่งชาวต่างชาติ กำลังคิดอะไรต่อประเทศไทย ปัจจัยภายนอกและความเสี่ยงเป็นสิ่งที่คาดคิดไม่ถึงนัก เรายืนคิดและหวนระลึกถึงเมืองไทยในอดีต และก็คิดกังวลว่าอนาคตของชาติจะเป็นอย่างไร ในปีหน้านี้ เราก็ภาวนาว่าจะมีปาฏิหาริย์มาช่วยผ่อนหนักเป็นเบา เพื่อคนจะได้ไม่ต้องลำบากกันมากมาย และให้ประเทศชาติสามารถอยู่รอดจากความวุ่นวายในอนาคต

img_2531.jpg

img_2530.jpg

img_2535.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency