Happy Caturday: feeding stray cats at the temple, ให้อาหารแมววัด

I did keep my promise to the stray cats at the temple; I went back there two days later. The lockdown meant that the supermarket would close one hour earlier. I went to buy a bag of cat food as well as other stuff for the weekend. As I was loading things onto my car, I noticed a cat hiding under my car. This looked like a pregnant cat; her look and colours told me that she used to have a good home. I wondered how a lovely cat became homeless. What had happened to the owner or perhaps the cat escaped from the house and got lost. She did seem very hungry but I wondered how she knew I had just bought cat food.

img_1843.jpg

img_1845.jpg

img_1847.jpg

So, I opened the bag and gave her some; she went straight to it but it seemed too dry. I had a free wet food sachet, so I gave her the wet food. She really liked that and finished the whole lot. She wouldn’t let me get too closed and she would backed out whenever I tried to move closer. I told her that I had to feed some cats at the temple. The afternoon was quite bright and hot while two days ago it was rather grey and dull. I got exhausted by walking in the heat I need to sit down when I got to the temple.

img_1859.jpg

img_1855.jpg

To my surprise, the tri-colour cat called Samsi came running to me while meowing like crazy happy. She was crying and trying to get me to give her a body massage. It’s quite a coincidence that this cat was hiding under the roof of a small shelter nearby. Suddenly a young novice with a big Alsatian came towards me and Samsi quickly went back to her hiding place. This big old dog was right by my side and complained with loud voices. The novice had already went away. I had to try to calm the dog down, his barking was very loud. Luckily he was not mad with me and I asked him to be nice. After five minutes of barking, he got fed up and left me alone.

img_1853.jpg

img_1860.jpg

I looked around for Samsi and found her under the roof of the shelter. This was the seating of King Rama III; he used to sit here while supervising the construction of the big model of Chinese merchant ship which used to travel to-and-fro between China and Siam. That period Siam became very wealthy from trading with Chinese merchants. The cat refused to come down from her hiding place. Luckily I could help her down with my hands. She could then have her first meal of the day.

img_1863.jpg

img_1864.jpg

While Samsi was eating her food I walked over to the other side to feed another stray cat. I did manage to find some fresh water for Samsi. I left her there to enjoy her meal; I didn’t want to make her dependent on me or trusting strangers too easily. Something told me to look for the other ginger cat. I couldn’t find those stray cats at the same place I last met
them. So I walked towards the pier. Suddenly I could hear distressing noises of some birds from the top of a tree. I looked up and saw a squirrel crying out for help. That was very odd so I walked around to find that ginger cat climbing half way up the tree.

img_1880.jpg

img_1887.jpg

img_1884.jpg

The poor cat was very desperate and hungry! He was not able to catch one of those fat pigeons! I looked at him and told him to come down. I showed him my bag of food. Surprisingly, he slowly backed down from the tree. He did climb up quite high; the poor cat was very hungry. He was quite timid so I gave him a comfortable distance. He ate the cat food very quickly so I tried to get some water for him. But he went into hiding after his meal.

img_1885.jpg

img_1890.jpg

So, it’s time to walk back to see Samsi. I was distracted by a mother cat with two cute kittens. I gave them some food; the mother cat and grey kitten were very friendly. The dark grey kitten was very timid and didn’t let me near him. By the time I went back to the small shelter, Samsi had gone elsewhere. I guessed she went to find somewhere safe to take a nap. That was my act of good deeds feeding stray cats at the temple.

img_1891.jpg

img_1894.jpg

But when I went back to get some more food stuff in the supermarket; I heard an extremely loud meowing inside the supermarket. I walked around trying to find the source of the distressing voice. Other people remained very calm as if they could not hear a thing. So, I thought it could be someone’ s mobile phone prank. But that mysterious cat kept calling out for help. I could see something moving on top of the vegetable shelf. I had no idea how that cat went up to that height and wondered how long he had been stuck up there. There was no food or water up there; and it’s too high for him to jump down.

img_1870.jpg

img_1872.jpg

img_1878.jpg

img_1876.jpg

I had to tell the staff about a cat getting stuck high up on the back of the shelf. I was quite disappointed that most people didn’t seem to care for the poor cat. I had to make sure the message got across by informing one more staff; but she was not very responsive either. That’s rather strange, that cat only cried out when I was in the area. How could he know that I would try to help him?

img_1888.jpg

Another strange coincidence at the car park: I found two big grey cats eating the remaining cat food near my car. How could three stray cats come up to the car park of the shopping mall? Once they were up on the four or fifth floor, they would not be able to get back down to the ground again. They would get stuck up in the car park where they would not be able to hunt for food. But how these twin cats knew I had left extra food for the pregnant cat. These two were very aggressive and kept hissing at me. As I had to leave, I had to chase them from under my car with folded umbrella. They quickly ran up the side stairs to the next floor. So, I guessed there could be more stray cats hiding on higher floors of this car park as it was quiet and deserted up. I might have to leave some food for these cats during my next visit. I couldn’t help feeling sad and sorry for these stray cats while most well-off shoppers just regarded them as a nuisance. Something is very wrong in our Buddhist society these days. The pandemic has affected people’s mind!

img_1895.jpg

img_1903.jpg

เราได้ทำตามสัญญาที่เราบอกแมวสามสีที่วัดว่า เราจะกลับไปเลี้ยงข้าวแมว สามวันต่อมาเราก็เดินกลับไปที่วัดอีก แต่ก่อนออกไปเราต้องไปซื้ออาหารแมวที่ซุปเปอร์มาร์เก็ตก่อน เราซื้ออาหารด้วยจึงต้องเอาของไปเก็บที่รถยนต์ พอไปถึงที่รถยนต์ เราเจอแมวไทยสีสวยมาก ท่าทางเป็นแมวตัวเมียกำลังมีท้องและหิวมาก เราก็เลยแกะถุงอาหารแมว แล้วเทให้มันกินนิดหน่อย มันกินเร็วไปทำให้ติดคอ เราจึงให้อาหารแบบเปียกที่ได้มาฟรีหนึ่งซอง ปรากฎว่าแมวชอบมาก และกินจนหมด เรายืนดูห่างๆเพราะแมวกลัวคนมาก เราสงสัยมากว่าแมวสวยๆตัวนี้ ดูเหมือนเป็นแมวที่มีเจ้าของมาก่อน แล้วมันหลงมาที่นี่ได้อย่างไร เราปล่อยให้มันกินอาหารไป เราเดินไปที่วัด

img_1846.jpg

img_1850.jpg

อากาศร้อนแดดจัดในตอนบ่าย เราไปถึงที่วัดที่เงียบเหงาไม่มีวี่แววของคนและแมว เราเดินจนเหนื่อยจากแดด ก็นั่งพักที่ขอบถนนตรงข้ามเรือจีนในวัดยานนาวา แล้วแมวสามสีก็โผล่มาหาเรา มันร้องด้วยความดีใจ เราก็คุยกับแมวและลูบตัวแมว เพื่อสางขนออกบ้าง สักพักเดียวสุนัขอัลเซเชียนเดินมากับเณรน้อย สุนัขตัวใหญ่เดินมาหาแมวสามสี มันก็วิ่งไปหลบมุมที่เดิม เราพยายามบอกให้สุนัขปล่อยแมวให้อยู่อย่างสงบ เราบอกให้มันไปทางอื่น แต่มันเห่าแบบประท้วงเราดังมาก มันยืนชิดตัวเราเลย โชคดีที่มันเป็นสุนัขใจดีมี่แก่มากแล้ว มันบ่นสักพักก็เดินจากไป เราก็บอกให้มันเป็นเพื่อนเรา และทำตัวให้เป็นสุนัขใจดีที่สุภาพด้วย

img_1857.jpg

img_1862.jpg

เราไปหาแมวสามสี มันปีนขึ้นไปบนขื่อของหลังคา พระที่นั่งของในหลวงรัชกาลที่3 ท่านทรงใช้ประทับดูการก่อสร้างแบบจำลองเรือที่พ่อค้าจีน ใช้เดินทางมาค้าขายสินค้ากับสยามในสมัยนั้น ในหลวงทรงเล็งเห็นว่าต่อไปเรือนี้จะหายไป และจะมีเรือจากฝรั่งเข้ามาแทนที่ จึงต้องสร้างแบบจำลองให้คนรุ่นหลังได้เห็นและรับรู้อดีต เราก็เอาแมวลงมาเพื่อเลี้ยงอาหาร มันหิวมาจึงกินอย่างเดียว เราก็เดินไปเลี้ยงแมวอีกตัวหนึ่งที่ตึกเก่าแก่ที่ถูกรื้อถอนแล้ว ไปถึงเจ้าแมวตัวนั้นก็วิ่งมาหาเรา เพื่อขออาหาร เราปล่อยให้แมวกินข้าวไป เราไปเอาน้ำมาให้แมวสามสี โชคดีแถวนั้นมีกล่องพลาสติก เราจึงเอามาใช้ได้. เราปล่อยให้แมวกินอาหารที่ศาลานั่น

img_1889.jpg

img_1886.jpg

img_1892.jpg

มีอะไรบางอย่างบอกให้เราเดินไปแถวท่าน้ำ พอไปถึงเราก็ได้ยินเสียงเหมือนนกกำลังโวยวายดังผิดปกติ แต่พอมองขึ้นไปเราเห็นกระรอกตัวเล็กกำลังตื่นตกใจ และเรียกขอความช่วยเหลือ เราก็เดินไปที่ต้นไม้ เราเห็นแมวส้มตัวเดิมกำลังปีนขึ้นไปที่ต้นไม้ เพื่อจับกระรอกมากิน มันต้องหิวมากจึงลงทุนปีนต้นไม้สูงจนเกือบถึงยอด เราก็เลยบอกแมวให้ลงมา เราเอาอาหารมาให้กินแล้ว แมวส้มก็ค่อยๆถอยหลังลงจากต้นไม้. มันเก่งมาก แต่มันระวังตัวและกลัวคนมาก เราก็ให้ให้อาหารแมวแล้วยืนดูห่างๆ เราพยายามหากล่องใส่นำ้ให้แมว แต่แมวรีบหนีไปหาที่ซ่อนตัวก่อน เราก็เดินกลับไปทางเดิม. แมวสามสีหายไปแล้ว เราคิดว่ามันคงไปหาที่นอนเงียบๆและปลอดภัยแล้ว เราก็ดีใจมากที่ได้ทำทานกับแมวเร่ร่อนในวัด

img_1871.jpg

img_1875.jpg

เรากลับไปที่ห้างโรบินสันเพื่อซื้อผัก เราได้ยินเสียงแมวร้องดังมาก มันร้องแบบเสียงหลงเลย แต่ลูกค้าคนอื่นทำเหมือนทุกอย่างปกติ เราเดินหาที่มาของเสียงแมว เราเห็นแมวอยู่บนหลังคาชั้นวางผัก เราก็คุยกับแมวว่าจะบอกให้คนมาช่วย เราก็ไปแจ้งพนักงานสองคน เขาบอกว่าจะแจ้งรปภ มาช่วยดูแลภายหลัง วันนี้แปลกมากที่เราเจอแมวหลายตัว พอเราไปมีรถยนต์ ก็เจอแมวสองตัวมีลายและสีเหมือนกัน มันคงเป็นพี่น้องกัน เรางงมากว่ามันรู้ได้อย่างไรว่า เรามีอาหารแมวอยู่ที่รถ สองตัวนี้ดุมาก มันขู่เราหนักมาก และไม่ยอมอิดจากใต้รถ เราต้องเอาร่มเขี่ยให้แมวออกไป มันวิ่งหนีขึ้นไปที่บันได เราเทอาหารแมวไว้ให้แมวกินด้วย วันนี้ช่างมีเรื่องบังเอิญเกี่ยวกับแมวหลายอย่างมาก อีกหลายวันกว่าที่เราจะมีโอกาสไปให้อาหารแมวที่วัดอีก เราก็หวังว่าแมวมี่วัดคงหาอาหารกินได้ และคงมีคนใจดีเอาอาหารไปเลี้ยงแมวด้วย

img_1879.jpg

img_1877.jpg

img_1897.jpg

Wishing you peace, good health and prosperity.

Stay strong and cheerful.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency