Another Hiver's Fiver || 5 Questions on Writing

writer's tag.png

Another 5 questions to answer and this time from @alinsonchangir. One of the things he is currently working on is fiction to upload to Wattpad. How cool is that! I found these questions interesting and so here are my answers :D

1. At the time of writing, what do you usually inspire yourself with?

I steal time between the different things my hands are on, and even though I know it isn’t productive as opposed to focussing on one thing until finished, the in-between times and the breaks from writing adds new ideas as I read back from the top to continue where I left off. And if there are deadlines, then I limit the walking aways but still do.

2. How do you overcome writer's block?

Same as the first. I just walk away and do something else. It helps shake up the stuck and loosen the frozen 😆.

The other thing I do is freewriting. Racing against the clock has brought out stories I did not even know lived in my head. I get my prompts from @theinkwell or @mariannewest, set the timer and let my fingers go crazy. Once the buzzer goes off, I leave it to rest, attend to other stuff then come back to edit and fix the story.

3. Do you consider writing as a hobby or as your main passion?

According to Dani Jorgenson

A hobby is something you do for fun, but back away from when you want. It’s not something you want to do constantly or even for work.
A passion is something you do to feel whole. Something that you miss with your heart, not just your hands. It’s something you don’t mind doing for work or repeatedly.

I have to say both. I love writing, but there are days that I just need to step away long enough to miss it 🙃.

I feel this is a good time to share some backstory. I worked at a radio station for the most part of my work-life and I must confess, I didn’t like copywriting very much. I did it and I've been paid handsomely for it, but I wasn't crazy about it. There were times, I even dreaded when my turn was close but of course, I did it because the money's good.

When I came to steem Hive, I was going to be this Video Content Creator but back then, DTube was new and still had many glitches, and I also realised the community here did not really care for videos. So I started to write, but in my head I hated it. But then, over time I came to love it - again. Again, because I remembered that as a child and in my teens I had loved writing and had forgotten it along the way. I reconnected with a long lost passion of mine.

4. What is the worst thing you have written?

Must be every single essay written in Bahasa Malaysia. Though my national language, I struggled with it all through my school years. I found it hard to express myself and 1000 word essays would be done in less than 100 words and the other 900 words, would be me spinning the same words in 10 different ways. Needless to say, I barely passed the subject.

5. Has Hive influenced your creative process?

333%. As mentioned in number 3, I had stepped in here thinking I hated writing. And to top it, I didn’t want to regurgitate facts and figures already on the internet, I was a very reserved/shy/introvert/private person that did not want to share my life either. So initially I struggled to find the joy in writing, trying out different challenges but not quite feeling it.

Then I chanced upon the Freewrites and learnt how not to overthink and little by little rediscovered that familiar feeling - “Hey, I do like to write!!”. I also felt safe here and got to know some Hivers that made me comfortable to peek out of my shell and here I am over a thousand days later with chunks of my life, ideas, thoughts splattered all over Hive :D

page divider orange.png

Hah!! That made me really rethink a lot of things. I have had moments where I feel I am not cut out for writing, I'll step away, miss it and come right back. Giving these questions some thought made me realise, I do love writing, and so what if I need to take a break every now and then? I don't have to be extreme about it and think that I am not cut out for it. Phew!!

You can go to the original post by clicking on THIS. I hope you take a swing at these questions too, I would love to read your answers. Also thank you to @alinsonchangir for these questions.

Thank you for reading😊
Sh33la

Image sourced from pexels.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency