Sunrise in the Mountains

Sunrise in the Mountains - The Views I miss most

Sunrise in the Mountains
The Views I miss most

It's been a while since I have taken these sunrise photos after an early morning hike to the summit of the mountain Hochstadel in Autumn 2019. It was completely dark when I started my hike, but later I have had a beautiful view down the foggy Drautal valley towards the rising sun in the east.

Sunrise view from the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)


I have grown up in a very small village at the foot of this mountain where I have spent most of my summers when I was a boy.
Actually, the mountain Hochstadel (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hochstadel) consists of 4 mountains which you can see in the panorama photo below: beginning on the left side you can see the Rosengarten (2,202 m), the Hochstadel (2,681 m), the Rudnigkofel (2,283 m) and the Wiesenspitz (2,074 m) on the right side (one meter is about 3.28 feet ;).

A couple of weeks ago I've visited my parents and took a few shots of the snow capped mountain. Who wouldn't want to go skiing up there? But it's a long hike up, especially in wintertime when the forest road is closed.

Panorama - Snow caped Mountain Hochstadel (January 2021)

It was a very nice morning and I have had the whole mountain for myself. The first other hikers showed up when I was half way back down, so the sun rose exclusively for me alone that morning ;)

Sunrise view from the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)
Sunrise view from the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)
Sunrise view from the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)

The white banana shaped field to the left is the lake Weißensee covered by a thick layer of fog above the misty Drautal valley.

Sunrise view from the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)

My hometown Oberdrauburg lays down there and is divided by the Drau river. The little village where I have grown up is on the lower right close to the forest.

Morning view from the autumnal mountain Hochstadel down to the foggy Drautal Valley (October 2019)
Panorama of the Mountain Hochstadel (October 2019)

Back in the valley I took the above photo of the mountain which you can compare to the snowy mountain in the following images which I took a few weeks ago.

Snow caped Mountain Hochstadel (January 2021)
Snow caped Mountain Hochstadel (January 2021)

Well, that's all for today's post and I hope you enjoyed the views I miss most from my childhood. Something good about these views is that they haven't really changed in the past 35 years :)


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, SIGMA 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


I hope you are all doing well and you take care for yourself and for the ones you love ... stay safe and stay healthy.

If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
I wish you a wonderful weekend,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! <<<


2021-02-19
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.758473 lat 12.889520 long 20210219-Hochstadel d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
135 Comments
Ecency