Sunday ... Thor's Day

Today should be renamed from Sunday to Thursday or better said Thor's Day.

Sunday ... Thor's Day

Sunday ... Thor's Day

Thor is the God of Thunder - in Germanic mythology, Thor is a god, who is associated with lightning, thunder and storms, also known as weather god. Everybody knows the god with the hammer, at least since the Thor movies came out. In Old High German he was called Donar and in German the Thursday is called Donnerstag (Donner = thunder).

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

Actually, I wanted to get up very early this morning to drive somewhere for a sunrise photoshoot, but thunder and heavy rain knocking on the window blinds convinced me to stay in bed till it got brighter outside.

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

It was still slightly raining when I had breakfast at about 6am in company of our cats on the balcony, but from the west I could see almost black clouds rolling into our direction, and Thor swung his hammer so that the thunder boomed loudly towards me.
I like Thor and the thunder, but not so much the rain that comes with it.

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

So I decided to take my photo backpack, get in the car and drive around the lake. "Maybe there are some amazing clouds over the lake or I can take a photo of a lightning" I thought, but all I got was a lot of rain and boring gray skies.

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

The weatherman in the radio said that the storm clouds would move to the east and the north, to our neighbor state Styria, and at places I could even see blue skies above the clouds.
So I decided to go north, but I should have known that I shouldn't believe the weatherman - it was quite nice and sunny in Styria, although the roads were wet.

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

Looking towards the mountains in the south I could see dark clouds and the weatherman confirmed that heavy rains and thunder storms were happening at home - isn't storm chasing a funny game? LOL

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

Of course, I couldn't get any lightning shots today as usual, and the clouds were more or less boring except of some scenes which I'm showing you here in this post.
The rain pelted the car and the streets quite hard, so that the windshield wipers were often too slow, but driving in the rain was also fun.

Rainy Sunday - Thunderstorms and dark Clouds

And with the above shot, which is my favourite photo from today, I want to end this post of a Sunday without Sun. It is still raining outside and I hope your Sunday was or still is nice.


Information

Thor - Wikipedia

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and the Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care, stay safe and healthy,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

> Have a look at my NFT's on the Foundation Plattform
> My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2021-08-01
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
203 Comments
Ecency