Intimate Icy Landscape

I think I should post the Ice photos I have taken in the past weeks, before the Winter is over and all ice has melted, although cool icicles might be even more interesting on a hot Summer day ;)

Intimate Icy Landscape
Frozen WaterfallsIcy Landscape - Frozen Waterfalls

So, as promised in my post Frozen Morning last week, here are some of my ice photos.

Green and Orange and White and Ice
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Of all the ice photos I shot this Winter I somehow like the photo above most. In my eyes the white water and white or transparent ice makes a very nice contrast to the orange rock and the green moss on the right side.

The small waterfall is surrounded by fresh ice, partly clear as glass. Soon the water will have a transparent cover, made from ice.

Clear as glass - Ice around the waterfall
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Why did I title this post "Intimate Icy Landscape"?

Well, the "Icy" part should be clear, but what is an "Intimate Landscape" photo? In my researches I have found, that the American photographer Eliot Porter might have created this term: Eliot Porter had the first exhibit of colour photography at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in 1979 – an exhibit titled Intimate Landscapes.

Icicles inside a little hollow
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖
Icicles hanging from the Rock
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

I would say, an intimate landscape photo is a part of a bigger landscape scene, showing smaller details, but different from close-up images or macros. It's somewhere between the grand vista landscape photo and a close-up or macro of a flower.

Ice envelops the dead branch
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖
Ice lying over the dead wood like a blanket
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

I have taken these photos on January 10, 2021. About one week later, when I have been in this area again, which is near where I live, I have taken more, but a little bit different ice photos. If I find some time during next week, I want to edit these photos and make one more Intimate Icy Landscape post ... before the Spring is here ;)


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and my EF 70-200mm f/4 L lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


I hope you are all doing well and you take care for yourself and for the ones you love ... stay safe and healthy.

If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
I wish you all a wonderful week ahead,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! <<<


2021-01-24
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
180 Comments
Ecency