Hike to the Black Lake / Schwarzsee

This morning began with a clear sky and looked very promising. The weather forecast said we would have a nice Autumn day, but who believes in the weather forecast? πŸ˜‰

Hike to the Black Lake
Schwarzsee
Hike to the Black Lake / Schwarzsee

Because the weather forecast was good I wanted to get up at 3am, drive about an hour and then go for a hike to a little mountain lake called Schwarzsee what means Black Lake in English.
I have never been on this mountain before, so I have been glad that my smartphone told me the right way to the ski area Verditz, where I could park my car and start the hike which should take about 1 1/2 hours.

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

It was still dark at 4:30 in the morning, but I had a head lamp with me. I wanted to be at the lake before the sun rises. The path was sometimes quite steep and lead through a forest. About 10 minutes before I arrived at the lake about an hour later the stars in the sky disappeared behind clouds and it became windy. At the lake the wind became a little but quite cold storm.

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

The strong wind blew the trees and branches and also the water, so a sharp image with nice reflections of the beautiful colored trees in the water was impossible.

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

The sunrise I have been hoping for happened behind the clouds, but a few times I could see a slight orange shine 😁

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

If the weather had been better I would have wanted to hike to the next mountain peak called Palnock, which is somewhere towards this westerly direction behind the clouds, but these clouds got darker and I was afraid that the weather would get even worse.

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

So I decided to leave this dark and cold place and continue my trip to another mountain range with a beautiful pass road further north.

Carinthia - Verditz - Schwarzsee - Black Lake
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon EOS R | Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

When I stopped next the world has become different - Mother Nature has painted the mountains orange.

Carinthia - Nockalm
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM

Almost all trees and forests were intense orange and of course, I have made a few photos, but these are meant for another post ;)


Information

Location: The Black Lake / Schwarzsee on Google Maps
Mirnock mountain range / Verditz Ski area - Wikipedia

All my photos were shot with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, SIGMA 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C.

I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

create hive blockchain account

Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here!

2020-10-26
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.703117 lat 13.760200 long 20201026-Schwarzsee-Black-Lake d3scr)

#hive5 from Austria πŸ–οΈ
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
260 Comments
Ecency