Frozen Morning

Last weekend I posted a Frozen Heart and this weekend it's the whole morning at the lake that was frozen.

Frozen Morning
Frozen Morning

Only a week ago it was cold and snowy, but there was no ice on the water in the reservoir and so I could take a few photos of a young swan that was curiously following me for a while, until the parents came to save it from the dangerous human.

Frozen Morning - Young Swan
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

During the past week the temperatures have fallen down far below -10 C (14 F) to even more than -20 C and although the sun was shining sometimes, the temperatures didn't climb much higher than a few degrees over 0C. Yesterday afternoon it was quite warm at about +2 C / 35 F.

Frozen Morning at the Reservoir
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

So, when I arrived at the reservoir yesterday morning, I saw that the lake was completely frozen. Obviously there were no swans around this time ;)

Frozen Morning at the Reservoir
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖
Frozen Morning at the Reservoir
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

It was freezing cold at about -15 C and the ice was quite thick so that I could walk on it to take the photos in this post. I didn't want to go far from the lakeside though, because ice is something I don't trust a lot.

Frozen Morning at the Reservoir
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Frozen Morning at the Reservoir
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

I have also taken a couple of photos of small frozen waterfalls and icicles, but I haven't had enough time yet to edit them. Maybe next week will be better.

Frozen Morning - Icy Waterfall
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

After a busy week, I finally managed to make a post once again, and I do hope you like the photos I shared with you today.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and my RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
I wish you all a wonderful week,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! <<<


2021-01-18
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
129 Comments
Ecency