Fire behind the Horizon

Sometimes the opposite site of the Sunset is even better than the Sunset itself.

Fire behind the Horizon

Fire on the Horizon

Actually, this scene was not really opposite the Sunset, but more to the left. Nevertheless it was better than the Sunset itself, which was not that spectacular because of the dark band of clouds which you can see on these photos too.

Fire on the Horizon - Sunset at the Sunvillage of Diex
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

About two weeks ago I have been once more on the Saualpe Mountain Range (links below) to view and photograph the Sunset. Most of the sky over the horizon was covered in dark clouds and the Sunset wasn't as interesting as this scene to the left of it. There the band of gray clouds left a gap on the horizon and the setting sun let the scene look like the horizon was on fire.

Fire on the Horizon - Sunset at the Sunvillage of Diex
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

On the same evening I have also seen and photographed a Halo to the right of the Sunset, which I have already posted the day after I was there: Fighting Gods.

Fire on the Horizon - Sunset at the Sunvillage of Diex
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

Fire on the Horizon - Sunset at the Sunvillage of Diex
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

After a couple of minutes the clouds closed the gap and a few moments later they also covered the sun, even before she could hide behind the horizon anyway.

Fire on the Horizon - Sunset at the Sunvillage of Diex
❖ please click the image for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM

Today was a surprisingly quiet morning and no meetings were planned either. So I thought I could take advantage of the situation and make this short post, because who knows what the rest of the day would bring.


Information

Location: My location in Diex on Google Maps
Saualpe - Wikipedia
Diex - Wikipedia

All my photos were shot with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, SIGMA 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C.

I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

create hive blockchain account

Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here!


2020-09-03
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.771025 lat 14.574151 long 20200820-Sunset-Diex d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
241 Comments
Ecency