Enlightening the Church

I know the title sounds a little weird, but those were the first words that came to my mind when the morning sun illuminated the peninsula Maria Wörth.

Enlightening the Church

Enlightening the Church
Peninsula Maria Wörth

2021, Easter Monday morning
I made a little trip around the Lake Wörthersee before my family would awake. It was cold and there was no cloud in the sky. So the sunrise was more a subtle colorized sky and at least from my viewpoint not really interesting.
I have taken only two in my eyes usable photos this morning: one is the panorama image below, the other one is more abstract and wouldn't suit here. I will post it on another day.

Peninsula and Church Maria Wörth at the Wörthersee
:. click to enlarge the image .:

Actually, I wanted to take a photo of the tower on the Pyramidenkogel which is more to the left outside the photo, but the sun didn't illuminate the tower as expected and as said above, the sky wasn't interesting at all.
So I decided to take a few photos for a panorama image through the branches of a tree where the church complex on the peninsula Maria Wörth would be the main motif. I have been lucky, because the sun began to slightly illuminate the peninsula and the church right at the moment when I arrived.

Peninsula and Church Maria Wörth at the Wörthersee
:. click to enlarge the image .:

After the 3 photos for the panorama, which I have taken without a tripod, I took a couple more shots of the church and on my further way around the lake I have only taken the in the beginning mentioned abstract image.
When I came home a little later, all was quiet and everybody was still in bed. Also the kittens opened just one eye and fell asleep again. Maybe I shouldn't have fed them before I left ;)

Peninsula and Church Maria Wörth at the Wörthersee
:. click to enlarge the image .:

Two weeks later ...
This morning I have been at the lake Wörthersee again, and this time the sky was very different. At first I went to my favorite sunrise spot. It was cloudy, but the cloud cover has been too dense and too low, so a nice shot of the sunrise wasn't possible again because the clouds blocked the sun and most sunlight.
So I moved to the place where I have been two weeks ago and took more shots of the church in the west.is one of the photos from this morning. You can see the peninsula and behind it the still snowy Gerlitzen Alpe mountain, which is a well known ski area in the mid of Carinthia north of the lake Ossiach.

Peninsula and Church Maria Wörth at the Wörthersee
:. click to enlarge the image .:

It was cold and it seems that Spring doesn't want to come here this year. A few days ago it has even been snowing in the valley and the weather forecast shows low temperatures and rain, rain, rain for the next days, but maybe they are wrong as they are wrong most times 🤣


Information

Wörthersee - Wikipedia
Maria Wörth - Wikipedia
Lake Ossiach - Wikipedia

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and the Sigma 100-400mm F5-6,3 DG OS HSM C lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care, stay safe and stay healthy, have a wonderful weekend,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! <<<


2021-04-17
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.609486 lat 14.198342 long 202104-Reifnitz-MariaWoerth d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
206 Comments
Ecency