Tis The Season

After the most recent "incident" with my Discord account being hacked, I have started to take online security of my accounts much more serious and I have turned on 2FA for many things involving my finances.

security-265130_1280.jpg

Source

However, during my analysis of security V. convenience, I chose to keep my twitter account the way it was. Decent password, no 2FA and I thought I'd be fine, unless I was famous I figure hacking is very unlikely and what would anyone get out of that? To my surprise, I finished the rest of my college homework/midterms before spring break to a notification on my phone of someone trying to get into my twitter account.

Hack.PNG

Now this isn't the only time within my online friend group, my good friend Nick had his Origin account hacked and someone got his Apex Legends account banned permanently.

hive dividers-12.png

So I guess what I am getting at with all of this, please be aware of these flags and always be vigilant when it comes to your privacy and finances. I do not wish this on anyone, I wish hacking was not possible because it can leave certain people ruined financially or with breached personal information but none-the-less it is here to stay.

Stay safe out there guys, its a dangerous place we live in these days

On a lighter note

I didn't post about my discord update as it's not too important and did not have enough substance, but I shall give a quick update since I am making a smaller post anyway.

I received my account back and PayPal has disputed the payment after a week and a half of no response by discord. I guess they were skeptical about how the hacker got into my account because they harshly (and quite rudely) warned me that if my account is breached and payments are unauthorized, my account will be disabled permanently. But I am not too worried, I have reinforced my security to ridiculous standards, and I have my account back! That is all that matters to me.

The way I see it, my account wasn't hurt, and my hard-earned money is not taken, so no harm, no foul. Still sucks to have praised discord for the platform and having this terrible support service.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency