#TuesdayThoughts - Getting the Vaccine?

#TuesdayThoughts – Getting the Vaccine?

Welcome to another edition of #TuesdayThoughts where I talk about something that’s on my mind. It’s part of my weekly schedule for #HiveBloPoMo (you can check out this tag to join next time).

IMG_20200809_230848-02.jpeg

What a topic!

So normally or at least up till now I haven’t really touched on any subjects which I would deem ‘controversial’. Not that I’m avoiding anything, I love a good discussion, but it’s the online part of these types of discussions that I’ve seen go off the rails time and time again. Online communities are a challenge in that sense, not saying it can’t go well and blossom into a whole hearted discussion, just saying it can also go wrong. After all you don’t have the rest of the communication tool available to you. No facial expressions of tone of voice for example, no body language.
The other reason is the simple fact that I’m have been finding my way around Hive (still am), and I’m still learning what works and what doesn’t.

So why now? Well I’m a lot more comfy now and I mean this is #TuesdayThoughts after all!!

So about getting the Vaccine

I know we all have to deal with the pandemic in some form or another and you might be sick of talking or hearing about it. I feel you… And after the terms ‘Covid’, ‘Lockdown’, ‘Vaccine’ is the next big thing.
But I think there is an interesting aspect, that is probably worth some future research in, and that is getting VALID information in the information age. I’m not getting into sources or censorship or anything like that. I’m just saying that getting valid information even in this internet/information age has proven to be more challenging than anticipated. The amount of posts, links, videos is just uncanny. So uncanny that you as an already damaged-going-through-a-pandemic-person will have trouble knowing what to believe in. There is so much (understandable) distrust…. And frankly there are so many valse reports that it’s almost logical that people wouldn’t know what to believe…

So when Curacao started offering the vaccine to anyone over the age of 18 (it was the front line first, then to senior citizens), I had to a big decision to make. Like anyone else I had to decide if I wanted or didn’t’ want it. And there is a difference in having the discussion when it doesn’t really apply to you (yet) and to when it does.
I too have seen many reports, some I know to be fake, some that made you think and others that I thought were true. I too have had some interesting discussions with friends and even family (luckily all calm discussions). And it turns out I really have people on both sides of the fence, friends and family, some for some completely against.
So ultimately, like most of us in the western hemisphere and or in a capitalistic system I looked at what was right for me. And I got my first Pfizer shots a few weeks ago.
My logic was this (as you can see in my IG story post): 1) The numbers are currently skyrocketing here, and feel like I should do my part to keep myself and other safe.

  1. My logic tells me that even though it’s not ‘mandatory’ at this point there are bound to be some restrictions in the near future. My family and friends are scattered in different countries and I know that one of the more likely restrictions will involve traveling. I mean in need to show that I got a Yellow Fever shot to enter Suriname.
    To me it’s important to be able to visit these friends and those family members. I don’t want to be put in a position where that isn’t a possibility.

IMG_20210405_011105_697.jpg

Those are my two main personal arguments! And my reasoning.

So by no means am I telling you to do it, lets be clear. I’m just sharing why I did. Your choice is personal and you should choose what is best for you!
If you’d like to share you opinion you can do so in the comments. I respect all of them...
Also did a poll (hey that would a great feature to add to Hive,right?)
IMG_20210421_003934_860.jpg

That's it for me today!
As always feel free to hit the comments!

Cheers

@gvkanten

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency