My #HiveBloPoMo in review

And so the sun sets on yet another challenge... (cue some fitting dramatic music in the background) 😂

20210429191156_IMG_0231-01.jpeg

I'm back!!!
Okay, tbh I didn’t really go anywhere but I did take short break from posting after completing the #HiveBloPoMo challenge!
Making it to the end was a victory and it pushed me to write more than I’ve ever done on HIVE. It was also a very welcome way to spend part of my lockdown! It was an extra daily challenge as I had to get creative with some of the content and even tried different types of photography. Oh and I wrote about, made, and photographed food (whut đŸ€Ż

In case you are still wondering, HiveBloPoMo stands for Hive Blog Posting Month and it was brought to my attention through @TraciYork: @traciyork/nablopomohiveblopomoakahiveblogpostingmonthforapril2021-grslb1b7orcoimipviak
I think we started out with: @Jeanlucsr, @FionasFavourites, @stevenwood, @the-bitcoin-dood, @richardfyates, @NickyHavey just to name a few
 (So special shout-out to them!)

So now, a successful challenge in the bag, what have I learned???

  1. A topic schedule is key!
    I tried going completely freestyle in my first HiveBloPoMo and quickly changed that up in the first week or so. The thing is, if you don’t set the topics you’re putting pressure on yourself to write something new every day. And honestly there is no need. If you just pick a few recurring topics that you know you can write multiple posts about, you’re good.

  2. Which brings me to the next point. Make sure there are some free/open days in your schedule. Give yourself some room to talk about whatever you want to talk about. It might not always get the most response but it keeps it fresh for YOU.

I settled on this schedule:
Monday :#MotivationMonday
Tuesday: #TuesdayThoughts
Wednesday is open
Thursday: #TravelThursday (which kinda goes hand in hand with #throwbackthursday cause traveling is not that simple now). I've been lucky enough to travel a lot so I'll be highlighting a place I've visited every Thursday.
Friday: #FoodFriday
Saturday is open
Sunday: #KeepExploring!

3.Write stuff YOU care about
 I think the challenge should be for you to be able to express yourself first and foremost. Second for you to streamline your workflow (if you want to get better at writing). That’s it. Don’t get discouraged if you get 2 or 3 likes, just be proud of what you wrote.

4.Start writing on time.

I totally struggled with this and a couple of my posts were posted at 11.59 pm!😁😁😁 Don’t expect yourself to be able to write something worthwhile in 15 min
 ESPECIALLY if you have to upload a lot of pictures and or videos (the agonyyyy đŸ˜©).
If you’re a pro, you can probably get away with those 15 min, but more often than not (especially somewhere in the middle of week 3) I found it handy to start writing during the day (on my phone) and then finish the post on my laptop later in the evening.
If you’re super organized, you can and should start writing even earlier than that and schedule your post (that could be my next challenge).

5.Find fitting communities.
Something I didn’t know when starting my first hiveblopomo last year (I was still a rookie) was that it’s much handier to post in certain communities if your content matches. Handier in terms of payout, but more importantly in terms of engagement and exposure.
In my case I have a lot of photography and travel photography so I posted in those


5b. Tags... Using the right tags goes a long way! (but i'm also still figuring this out myself)

6.Check out other peoples work. You’re not alone here and it would be weird if you just push out content without showing interest in others. So use the communities to find interesting content, learn, and leave your thoughts in the comments. Or ask a question
 or I mean, whatever you’re comfy with as “engagement” 
 but the point is interaction is beneficial.

So what now???

Well honestly, posting every day, took some serious effort. Also because of the EVERY day thing but mostly because I challenged myself to have every post something I considered quality.
So will I keep going? Not every day, but I will have a couple of my topics come back. The goal for me is to keep the quality up, write what I like to write about and interact more. Adding some other topics down the line is also on the list...
And who knows, I might join another challenge or two 😎.

If you made it this far, check out my personal favorites of my #HiveBloPoMo:

20210422183846_IMG_9693-01.jpeg

As always, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below!
Hope you have a great week!

Cheers!

@gvkanten

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency