Yes, posts are worth something. Lives are.

I originally came here via Steem, and I was there for a number of years, so I heard a lot of talk about quality of posts and their "deserving" income or lack thereof.

Some of this is true. A shit post doesn't deserve $20 or $60 or whatever. Maybe a few depending on what it says.

Some of it however is the same type of workism and rhetoric primarily sourcing from classism.

On Steem it wasn't primarily the poor that got the backlash of workism though. The structure of the system that Hive itself is forked from lends to abuse from those with monetary resources.

If you got $100k to waste, you can easily just dump it in Hive or Steem or wherever, and use that money very effectively to make more money. Bid bots were one way this was happening, but just the nature of the network means that large accounts will get more attention, even if just from people hoping to get that upvote.

Right now I myself am struggling with what to do. On the one hand my account is 3k HP, that I could power down a bit of to more effectively trade for profit. On the other, I actually wanna power up a lot more HP than that. But even tho I actually have liquid hive right now, I'm using it to trade with to try to at least quadruple it, with or without additional monetary input.

On top of just growing my HP, I have to figure out how to grow my account and payouts, partially to grow my HP, and because it would just be nice to have money. But are my shitty posts about the market and finance worth anything? They'd actually be worth a lot more with more interaction, because then they would include financial discussion in the comments. As they are, occasionally I can be wrong, and the market can be worth a lot less than I think, and I manage to make money over all, but not before possibly losing some or some retracement and hitting lower buys where I had money in reserve. Is the post about reading the current state of the market worth anything then?

See, that's the thing I've realized in my time apart from Hive. Yes, yes it is. Human life is worth something. There is the matter of determining who should get what rewards from the blockchain, but everyone's stupid little posts about their life are worth something. Not JUST the posts with tremendous effort that are so long you don't even wanna read the whole thing. Not JUST the gorgeous art. Not just the beautiful girls. Everyone deserves to live and enjoy life.

We all deserve a human allowance. A Universal Basic Income.

Not just those who can amass a big stake to then delegate.

But I'm more lucky than some, and have decided to try to amass a stake, to assure a bit of income from here, and because I do still believe in this place, even with it's faults. When it comes down to it, it's a way to reward authors, and artists, and normal people just living their life, for sharing a moment of it with us all, and yes, that is worth something.

goodness-440313_640.jpg
Image by johnhain Sept. 12, 2014 (source)
Used under Pixabay License

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency