Does it Pay to be Ruthless?

There's more to life that what you see. In my daily walk, I encounter many different types of people. Having a discerning mind, I can take in the intertwined interactions between the people around me and get a sense of the big picture. One thing I'm seeing more of is the fact that a certain type of individual always seems to rise above the others, time after time. I'm referring to the cutthroat, all-or-nothing, less than human types that always seem to leave destruction in their wake.

It made me wonder, does it pay to be ruthless?

Being ruthless in business

Now seeing these guys thrive in the world of business, I can kind of understand, as you may need that "killer instinct" to beat the competition. Unless you believe in a higher power or some form of divine retribution. But what I'm seeing is that carrying over into their personal life and the way they handle interpersonal relationships. It's almost as if they walk around with a perennial chip on their shoulder, that they can't flick off. Any measure of kindness, is always seen as a weakness to be exploited.

While we do see them climb the business ladder, there doesn't seem to be much left over after this bull in a china shop gets done. Any benefit in the short-term, has to be weighed against the damage to the reputation of the business and the loss of valued employees. There's always a price to pay.

And ruthless at home...

A couple of years ago, I wrote a post about my onetime friend, "Jay" the psychopath. He's still out there, circling nursing students like a shark in the ocean. Reeling them in with flattery, while squeezing everything of value out of them, before insulting and discarding these women like a piece of trash.

Nowadays however, the hunting grounds are starting to get lean, as I and others have been warning any women in the nursing profession about him. But it's tough when you're a female with body image issues, and along comes this seeming Knight in shining armor to save the day.

There is not much of a sense of empathy or remorse to appeal to, so much so that I wonder what would happen if a few of these types were confined to some tiny island and had only each other to deal with. Sharks hunting sharks might be something to watch!

Cutting them out

What I can tell you is that decent folks don't usually stand a chance in the workplace with someone like that around. I've seen the best of the best get mowed over, while not seeing the danger until it's too late. Even after being tipped off ahead of time, their sense of decency and fair play, hurts them every time. One shark like this can devastate an organization, leaving the beast presiding over a shell of a company. The same thing happens in families and relationships.

But I'm starting to see some hope as well. Realizing that they can't handle this soulless entity all alone, we're witnessing a group effort to isolate and remove the disrupter like the infection that he is. Bereft of prey, these sorts eventually move on to greener pastures, leaving businesses, relationships and families intact. We've all run into them and had to deal with the wolves in our lives. So I ask, how are you dealing with the narcissist next door? What are the tactics you've used to handle people like this and get your life back?

Thank You So Much!

Please check out my recent posts:


Please follow me on:

👍LeoFinance: @evernoticethat
👍Hive: @evernoticethat
👍Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

photo credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency