Three cornered leek, a hidden gem

Three cornered leek (Allium triquetrum) is considered a nuisance in many places. If you make a search, half of the results will be about how to get rid of it.
Do you know why? Because once established it just keeps coming back. It has two different systems of reproduction, the bulbs and the pretty white flowers.

244608987_4611434002251637_1334999281107565485_n.jpg

Now, I've had garlic and onions in my garden. And in all honesty, I will take three cornered leek over them any time. And that's what I do.
Why? First and foremost: because it's darn easy to grow once established. (duh LOL)
Second because it really serves the purpose.
And here there is something I feel important when it comes to designing a garden. First we stop and look. We really see what's already there. What it means, why it's there, what's nature trying to accomplish. Then we find the way to compromise. Because anyone who has tried to wrestle with nature knows it's a lost battle in the long run.
All edible gardens need some kind of allium (garlic, onion, leek, three cornered leek, etc). We need it for taste and for health. Now, if we have the chance to have a self seeding, very easy to grow and really tasty version, why say no?
The plant appears during the winter in my area, in spring it flowers with a very pretty and confusing flower (it does smell and taste like garlic/spring onion). All parts of the plant are edible, but I just cut the greens for the most part unless it runs over sections I don't want it to go. Then I do go and remove the bulb, which is a tiny but very tasty thing. I do it after it rains or wetting the area to avoid damage.
Flowers are beautiful and can be used for flavor and decoration.
Three cornered leak likes borders, well most plants like borders (more about this some other time), they fair pretty well in shade and I believe is a great addition for any edible garden. It needs no tending whatsoever. The only thing I do is to pick up what I need and remove the whole plant when it runs over sections I want for other plants.

Some science:
Unveiling the bioactivity of Allium triquetrum L. lipophilic fractions: chemical characterization and in vitro antibacterial activity against methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus
ref: pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32458905
"The antibacterial activity of A. triquetrum bulb, flower and leaf extracts against methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) growth was in vitro assessed. Bulb and flower extracts showed significant MRSA growth inhibition. Overall, these valuable findings can contribute to the valorization of A. triquetrum L. as a source of value-added phytochemicals, specifically as antibacterial agents and for nutraceutical applications."

Image: Plants from my garden.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency