RE: What is Social Network 3.0 & How can HIVE Lead the Transformation

I know, its not easy. But what Steem and HIVE told me last 4 years that an all-content-network doesn't work. I come across to many people (even those with good content) saying they took time off because their posts didn't got traction (meaning: no rewards). And project owners dont seem to learn and dont seem to want to learn and have respect for what we have here. Like the RisingStar game people. Recently, they added a feature in the game with a default message and let players post a DBuzz with a click.... Many of these spam messages now on chain, messages with all the same content stating something to the lines of "I played blahblah" and then a link to their profile or something. And when I approach them, they play dumb.

What is clear to me, a blogging service, an insta like service, a twitter like service shall not eat from the same reward pool. I also learned, many auto voters never (or rarely) review what they vote for, ie users having nice auto voting rewards, abusing HIVE. I come across too many users who think they can just recycle their content and its all good, because this is common in all the well known social media. But thats just their excuse of ripping the reward pool.

In the end, all these problems causes:

  1. serious bloggers adding cool value to the network, leaving
  2. a network of 'stupid' low to no value content remains
  3. the market is not regarding HIVE as a valuable token as a result

The later is the logical result of the former two points. And because of point 2, its almost impossible to bring exisiting communities, news services or whatever information service to HIVE.

I'm in favour of bringing eg De Correspondent to HIVE, and hate to see these guys had to drop the English version due to low uptake. But maybe when they can reward their commentors and members with their own token and give some perks to them (like a loyalty program), they may be interested to use the HIVE chain in one or the other way. Since the founders and C-level people at De Correspondent are people who want to drive change, and do not shy away from tech, they may be just the right party to get involved with blockchains. And why not HIVE? I still want to approach them, but I think I'll have to wait until at least the next HF. Other soultion would be to bring De Correspondent to KOINOS or another chain.

I believe we shall create a vision and create a culture that will fit this vision. At the moment we have nothing. No vision, no respectful culture, nothing. That sadness me a lot. Almost 5 years down the road and still struggling as if it was day one and two of the service. Decentralisation is nice, but it also leads to total chaos and I believe too many people including those with large stakes, or careless (not all, some are super, but many are not), leave the work to others, and take whatever they can take. Not much of a community in that respect πŸ˜•

Take this post as an example. It gets a bit of attention, and has some nice discussions, but nobody with some solid stake in HIVE, says anything, while some of them voted for this post. Maybe they take the information at heart and do something with it, but I don't count on that.

Anyways, I still see potential, a lot of potential and I stilll find energy to voice what I want to voice and try to get more people to care and even to try and convince larger stakeholders to acre as well as thinking of ways to get professional companies insterested in using HIVE. And as long as I have this energy, I'll continue πŸŽΆπŸ·πŸ™ƒ

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency