Add a Bit of Citrus to Your Life


I bought some delicious oranges and lemons this week at the grocery store. Truth be told, I pick up a lemon and a lime every week, even if I don't need it. A squeeze of citrus makes a wonderful difference in recipes.


orange slice.jpg


A little hint that I learned: Add a small squeeze of lemon to your rice water, and it will make fluffy rice! I put it on my fresh vegetable to keep their colors vibrant. Use less salt and add a little bit of lemon instead. I think it enhances the flavor.


lemon and lime.jpg


Water is king! It is such a refreshing drink, but, water with limes, lemons, or oranges (any citrus) and mint is on the fast track for flavor. Even better, it infuses almost right away. I love to infuse different ingredients in my water. Slice the fruit and put it in a container in the refrigerator. fill it with water. It is done. What is your favorite fruit/veggie/ingredient to infuse? Don't forget that you can use many different combinations to keep it fresh until you find one that you love. I like to shift from one to another, until, I eventually go back to citrus and water, it easy and fast. While I would love to credit the photographer on this shot below, it has been copied a million times on the internet and not one person sourced it. So, I found it here My apologies to the photographer.


DSC_0209edcrop.jpg


These different combinations were like sugarplums dancing in my head. I will say I really like the watermelon, although I didn't think I would and the strawberries were yummy! I am a little hesitant on the cantaloupe, but, I will try it, just so I can say I did. Watch it be my favorite. Ha!


20180218_121450.jpg


I decided to make a potpourri with some fruit. I take out the oranges and lemons, then I cut them up into pieces and put them in a pan. I fill the pan with water, almost to the top. There is something about the inviting scent of citrus, mingling with cinnamon... I know it is not winter here, but, I love the scent of warmth and it makes it feel homey. I know it is not very scientific, but, it gives a calm feeling knowing that when I walk back through that door, I will be met by the scent of heaven. I love it during the holidays, but, honestly, I am always making a homemade potpourri, scenting the house in a most delightful way.

Breathe deeply. Heaven scent.


Gradient - Green.png

What is your favorite way to use fruit?


2YRZBi4FZVHeQQfitmdxPPgLtSu1HuSyXtTCpRF9N1ZcMUXDB7ptaErKjZ7EjGkU8RCTi3W4YfMvxnE6rhrzGK6u85hnX1ACrYN.jpg

As always there must be a flower, to color my world. #alwaysaflower And just like that, this post is done. Come back tomorrow and we will do it again.


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.


20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency