[ESP–EN]. Santa Cruz de Bucaral “El pueblo de mi niñez” - "The town of my childhood" - Santa Cruz de Bucaral.¨

ESPAÑOL

Desde que nací, en cada semana santa nos íbamos a un pequeño y retirado pueblo, el lugar natal de mi mamá "Santa Cruz de Bucaral". Se encuentra en el estado Falcón, municipio Unión. A cinco horas de Coro, la capital del estado. Un pueblo adentrado en las montañas, con unas cinco calles, a lo mucho, una iglesia católica, dos plazas y unos pocos comercios.

Santa Cruz de Bucaral Fuente
Mi mamá creció a las afueras de ese pueblo, en una pequeña casita de barro (tipo arcilla) y varilla (de bambú), sin baño (el baño era la naturaleza) y la ducha, las represas o ríos. Si tenían suerte, un baño con cuatro paredes de metal para techo y una puerta con cortina de bolsa de basura o de saco tejido. Esos pequeños caseríos a las afueras, tienen calles de tierra roja y piedra, con árboles y montañas de lado a lado. Sin casi iluminación. A duras penas les llega la electricidad.
Vista de los valles

Fuente
Las gallinas sueltas por las calles, las vacas también, así como los caballos, burros, asna o perros. Todo era libre. Sin paredes que dividiera todo como en la ciudad, una ciudad calurosa de día y nublada además de fría por la noche, y con muchos mosquitos (zancudos se les dice en Venezuela). Se escuchan las guacamayas a lo lejos, los loros y los monos. Literalmente es montaña. De pequeña amaba irme allí, a correr, jugar, conocer. Por qué además de eso, ese municipio tiene las llamadas Cuevas del Toro, que se volvió un parque nacional pero es poco visitado.
Cueva Quebrada El Toro
Fuente
Además tiene unas cataratas que no son conocidas, por lo dentro que es de las montañas. Y se llaman según los habitantes "Las cataratas del Charo". Las cuales son un salto de agua hermoso, con muchos pozos que corren río abajo que parecen pequeños pero son muy profundos y el agua es helada como de heladera (nevera).
Y existen muchas leyendas acerca de esas cataratas y la cueva que existe abajo de ella, que según buzos (que fueron a ver si de ahí se podía surtir al pueblo) encontraron especies de peces extraños.
Cataratas El CharoFuente

Pozo
Fuente
Y por último, mi lugar favorito, unas aguas termales naturales, en el cual se iba el que fue como mi abuelo, cada semana santa a visitar para sacar sus pasmos (cuando se tiene el cuerpo caliente y se bañan o mojan con agua fría). O sea esos vapores o choques de temperatura les causan dolor a largo plazo en las articulaciones.
Aguas termales
Fuente
Cuando tenía 13 años fue la primera vez que fui, y fue durante el verano (semana santa). En Venezuela está época casi siempre es verano. Y mi papá tenía un camión tritón, en el viajamos desde casa (Yaracuy) hasta allí. Casi 8 horas de viaje por curvas cerradas que me mareaban. Y barrancos a los lados.
Y en ese camión fuimos a ese lugar, a un par de horas de dónde nos estábamos hospedando (en la casita de mi tío materno, dormíamos 6 personas en una pieza (mi mamá, mi papá, mis tres hermanos menores y yo). En cama, colchoneta y hamaca.
Ese día al llegar, pasamos por una hacienda ya que el río se encuentra en medio de propiedad privada. Potreros con muchas vacas. Así que pedimos permiso y entramos, no solo íbamos nosotros, sino también mi tíos, sus familias y amigos. La parte trasera llena de personas.
Era un río normal, con enormes rocas y agua fría, y pequeños tubos venían de lejos a dar a pozos. Su olor era a azufre (huevos podridos) y era horrible. Pero luego te acostumbras y ya no lo sientes, ese día hice lindos recuerdos con mis papas, amigos de verano y familiares lejanos. Al regresar a casa ese verano (vacaciones de cinco a siete días) me encontré recordando todo lo que viví y los obstáculos que pasamos para llegar allí y para devolvernos.
Nunca era fácil, pero siempre nos olvidábamos de todo, y solo compartíamos en familia. Sin señal de teléfono, sin internet, sin tv, solo conversar a la antigua y salir a mirar. Y la ultima vez que fui, seguro fue hace 4 o 5 años, aun no me graduaba de la facultad y todos me preguntaban cosas, sobre mi carrera, se sentían orgullosos de mí, como si fuese muy grande y solo era otra chica más en mi facultad.
Esa ultima vez que fui, todo había cambiado, se había ido la calidez de su gente, y ya no se sentía la bienvenida, y esa ultima vez, me despedí de ese lugar, de ese pueblo con buenos y malos recuerdos, con la esperanza de algún día volver con mi familia propia, pero ahora parece imposible y tan lejano, al estar a millones de kilómetros. No dejo de pensar que quisiera que mis hijos, los que algún día tendré conozcan ese lugar que sementó mi niñez, me dio humildad, libertad, y amigos. Así como recuerdos para toda la vida, una chica de ciudad amando las montañas. Allí aprendí a amar los sonidos, la naturaleza y a encontrarme a mi misma.

2716c3d5-99b8-4b72-ab53-0dd2c2e25319.jpgFuente: Fotografía propia del puente del Limón que divide Falcón de Lara

Este puente lo pasé tantas veces que siempre que lo veía, me tranquilizaba saber que ya se acercaba Santa Cruz, y veía las aguas verdes del río, algunas veces altas, otras veces bajas, pero que anunciaban el final del Estado Lara y el inicio del Estado falcón, en especifico de la Sierra Falconiana.

926af3ed-bfbc-416b-8708-08a45e7f9055.jpg Fuente: Fotografía propia de la represa frente a donde me quedé a dormir la ultima vez que fui en el 2017.

El Vesubio es el nombre del caserío donde siempre nos quedábamos, un conjunto de casitas de barro o tabla, donde todos era primos, hermanos o familiar sanguíneo de alguna forma de todos, y tanto atrás de la casa, había una enorme represa (Laguna creada para que beban agua las vacas), como al frente. Y esa que fotografié era la del frente, mas fácil de llegar. Y había que agarrar agua de allí para bañarnos. Ya que no hay agua por tubería.

03761682-fbe2-4873-ace9-5bca90df7c33.jpg Fuente: Fotografía propia de las guacamayas y loros que habían en la casa de la señora Peche.

En ese hogar, la ultima vez que fui me encontré con que tenían dos nuevos habitantes, un loro y una guacamaya, los cuales no se dejaban tocar pero estaban en todas partes, así que solo admiré su majestuosidad y los fotografié muchas veces.

4aef8e8f-4d85-4a7f-b1fe-1aaa5e733433.jpg Fuente: Foto de la ultima vez que fui en el 2017

Ya van a ser cinco años desde aquella ultima vez, y esa vez marqué un antes y un después de quien era. Nadie nunca esperó verme pasar de cabello larguísimo a cabello corto, además, con ese corte, ya no era la misma chica risueña y alegre, había llegado a mí la adultez, junto con muchas responsabilidades.

Ahora recuerdo tantas cosas y solo espero algún día poder volver, aunque sea sola. Hoy cambio mi adiós, por un hasta pronto Vesubio, hasta pronto Santa Cruz.

Gracias por sus votos, comentarios y reblog. Espero les haya gustado conocer sobre este lugar poco conocido incluso para los venezolanos, ahora podrán saber un poco de ese pequeño lugar escondido.

@deeserauz 1.png


ENGLISH

Since I was born, every Holy Week we used to go to a small and secluded town, my mother's birthplace "Santa Cruz de Bucaral". It is located in the state of Falcón, in the municipality of Unión. Five hours from Coro, the state capital. A town deep in the mountains, with about five streets, at most, a Catholic church, two squares and a few stores.

Santa Cruz de BucaralSource

My mom grew up on the outskirts of that town, in a small house of mud (clay type) and rod (bamboo), no bathroom (the bathroom was nature) and the shower, the dams or rivers. If they were lucky, a bathroom with four metal walls for a roof and a door with a garbage bag or woven sack curtain.
Those small hamlets on the outskirts, have streets of red dirt and stone, with trees and mountains on either side. With almost no lighting. Electricity barely reaches them.
View of the valleys

Source

Chickens roamed the streets, cows too, as well as horses, donkeys, donkeys, donkeys or dogs. Everything was free. No walls dividing everything as in the city, a hot city during the day and cloudy and cold at night, and with many mosquitoes (mosquitoes are called in Venezuela).
You can hear the macaws in the distance, parrots and monkeys. It is literally a mountain. When I was little I loved to go there, to run, to play, to get to know. Because in addition to that, this municipality has the so-called Cuevas del Toro, which became a national park but is little visited, also has some waterfalls that are not known, because it is inside the mountains.
Cueva Quebrada El Toro
Source
And they are called according to the inhabitants "Las Cataratas del Charo". Which are a beautiful waterfall, with many wells that run downstream that seem small but are very deep and the water is icy cold as a refrigerator (fridge). And there are many legends about these waterfalls and the cave that exists below it, which according to divers (who went there to see if they could supply the town) found strange species of fish.
Cataratas El CharoSource

Pozo
Source

And finally, my favorite place, some natural hot springs, where my grandfather used to go every Easter to visit to get his pasmos (when you have a hot body and you bathe or get wet with cold water). So those vapors or temperature shocks cause long term pain in the joints.
Aguas termales
Source
When I was 13 years old was the first time I went, and it was during the summer (holy week). In Venezuela this time of year is almost always summer. And my dad had a triton truck, in which we traveled from home (Yaracuy) to there. Almost 8 hours of travel through sharp curves that made me dizzy. And ravines on the sides.
And in that truck we went to that place, a couple of hours from where we were staying (in the house of my maternal uncle, we slept 6 people in one room (my mom, my dad, my three younger brothers and me). In bed, mattress and hammock.
That day when we arrived, we passed through a hacienda since the river is in the middle of private property. Pastures with many cows. So we asked permission and went in, not only us, but also my uncles, their families and friends. The back part was full of people.
It was a normal river, with huge rocks and cold water, and small tubes came from far away to give to wells. It smelled like sulfur (rotten eggs) and it was horrible. But then you get used to it and you don't feel it anymore, that day I made nice memories with my parents, summer friends and distant relatives. Upon returning home that summer (five to seven day vacation) I found myself remembering everything I experienced and the obstacles we went through to get there and back.
It was never easy, but we always forgot everything, and just shared as a family. No phone signal, no internet, no TV, just old-fashioned conversation and going out to watch. And the last time I went, I'm sure it was 4 or 5 years ago, I had not yet graduated from college and everyone was asking me questions about my career, they were proud of me, as if I was very big and I was just another girl in my college.
That last time I went, everything had changed, the warmth of its people had gone, and I no longer felt welcome, and that last time, I said goodbye to that place, to that town with good and bad memories, with the hope of someday returning with my own family, but now it seems impossible and so far away, being millions of kilometers away. I keep thinking that I would like my children, the ones I will have someday, to know that place that gave me humility, freedom, and friends. As well as memories for life, a city girl loving the mountains. There I learned to love the sounds, nature and to find myself.

2716c3d5-99b8-4b72-ab53-0dd2c2e25319.jpgSource: Own photograph of the Limón bridge that divides Falcón from Lara.

I passed this bridge so many times that whenever I saw it, I was reassured to know that Santa Cruz was approaching, and I saw the green waters of the river, sometimes high, sometimes low, but announcing the end of Lara State and the beginning of Falcon State, specifically the Sierra Falconiana.

926af3ed-bfbc-416b-8708-08a45e7f9055.jpg Source: Own photograph of the dam in front of where I stayed overnight the last time I went in 2017..

El Vesubio is the name of the hamlet where we always stayed, a group of little houses of mud or board, where everyone was cousins, brothers or blood relatives in some way of all, and both behind the house, there was a huge dam (lagoon created for the cows to drink water), and in front. And the one I photographed was the one in front, easier to get to. And we had to get water from there to bathe. Since there is no piped water.

03761682-fbe2-4873-ace9-5bca90df7c33.jpg]() *Source: Own photograph of the macaws and parrots that were in Mrs. Peche's house.

In that home, the last time I went there I found that they had two new inhabitants, a parrot and a macaw, which would not let themselves be touched but were everywhere, so I just admired their majesty and photographed them many times.

4aef8e8f-4d85-4a7f-b1fe-1aaa5e733433.jpg Source: Photo from the last time I went in 2017.

It's going to be five years since that last time, and that time I marked a before and after of who I was. No one ever expected to see me go from very long hair to short hair, besides, with that cut, I was no longer the same giggly and cheerful girl, adulthood had come to me, along with many responsibilities.

Now I remember so many things and I only hope someday I can go back, even alone. Today I change my goodbye for a see you soon Vesuvius, see you soon Santa Cruz.

Thanks for your votes, comments and reblog. I hope you enjoyed learning about this little known place even for Venezuelans, now you can know a little of this little hidden place.

@deeserauz ingles.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency