This Sunset Had People Calling People!

My photos are of an interesting sunset from a few weeks ago on September 23rd. My husband yelled for me to grab my camera and come outside. Meanwhile my phone started to ring so I left my phone inside and grabbed my other camera to head outside. Usually, the really colorful sunsets can be seen from my back yard.

sublimesunday10-17-2021-1ok.jpg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-2ok.jpg

It was indeed a pretty and colorful sunset!

sublimesunday10-17-2021-3ok.jpg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-4ok.jpg

The strange part though was what we could see from our front yard. Looking up the street, it almost looked like the area across the street was on fire and billowing with smoke.

sublimesunday10-17-2021-5ok.jpg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-6ok.jpg

I've never seen a sight such as this on that side of the street and I wished that we could get in the truck to get a better view but we were not able to do that. My husband, figuring we were in for the night, had an adult beverage so we had to settle for the views from our yard.

sublimesunday10-17-2021-7ok.jpg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-8ok.jpg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-9ok.jpg

Here is a photo of directly across the street!

sublimesunday10-17-2021-10ok.jpg

Once back inside I checked my phone and had missed a couple of phone calls from my son and a sister. My husband had also missed a couple of phone calls, one being our son. All of our missed calls were from people telling us to go outside and check out the sky ... lol. Mind you, my son was the biggest surprise as he left messages for us and the one he left my husband was "quick, tell mom to check out the sky"! Of course, we were already outside since my husband had noticed the spectacular sunset when he was out getting our mail. So, it turns out that my son had the most spectacular view as he was in a very open area. I asked him if I could share his photos here and he said "sure". So the following photos were taken by my son and, with his permission, I'm showing them here.

sublimesunday10-17-2021-11ok.jpeg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-12ok.jpeg

I received some photos from other people but I think that my son definitely was in the right place at the right time to get the ones I'm showing here. I have to say that I think he got some awesome photos!

sublimesunday10-17-2021-13ok.jpeg

You know what the best part was though?! That he thought to call both me and his dad to tell me to get outside and check out the sky! It was a pleasant surprise that he thought of me to call even if I wasn't able to get the kind of shots that he was able to get. Also, that he said that I could share them here! 💖

sublimesunday10-17-2021-14ok.jpeg

sublimesunday10-17-2021-15ok.jpeg

Thank you @c0ff33a for #sublimesunday!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay (unless noted otherwise). All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency