A Walk To The Beach

Last week I visited Ocean City, Maryland and I did get to walk down to the beach once while I was there. My photos today will be of that walk and what I saw along the way. This is the stretch of beach along the area of 11500 Coastal Hwy. There is access to it directly from the condominium where we were staying as well as public access on either side.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-1ok.jpg

This is some distance away from the Ocean City Boardwalk which is 2.45 miles long and ends at 27th Street. It gets more crowded the closer you are to the boardwalk so I prefer to be further away from the crowds. I would've liked to have walked down the the beach more than once while there but times flies, weather sometimes interrupts plans as well as health so walking down once made it even more special to me. Walking down from the condo, I passed by the condo play yard, basketball court and volleyball area that are part of the amenities that the condo offers. I can see these and more from the balcony of the unit that we were staying at.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-2ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-3ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-4ok.jpg

Some of the dunes are fenced off and there were different plants and shrubs within the fenced area including cactuses (cacti).

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-5ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-6ok.jpg

My husband and I walked down in the latter part of the afternoon and because the weather had changed a bit, there weren't very many people on this stretch of the beach. I was looking forward to walking in the waves along the beach but once we got down there that changed as it had become windy and there was a bit of a chill in the air. As a matter of fact, it seemed like the lifeguard wasn't enjoying the wind and chill either.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-7ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-8ok.jpg

My husband did venture a foot in the water but I decided to stay back and just take in the views.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-9ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-10ok.jpg

I did find some small shells and I picked out two tiny ones and put them in my pocket. My husband was back from the waves and we wanted to get a closer look at a couple of sand sculptures that were on the beach. They weren't elaborate but they were cute!

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-11ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-12ok1.jpg

On our way back in I took more photos of the dunes and cactuses. Some of the cactuses had yellow blooms.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-13ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-14ok.jpg

I ventured closer to the fence on one side and my husband cautioned me as to some cactuses that had grown outside of the fencing and very near where I was walking. I'm so glad he saw that and told me because I had not seen it and surely would've stepped on them. I was trying to get a better shot of some cacti blossoms where the wind was a little more calm so as not to blow other foliage in front of them.

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-15ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-16ok.jpg

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-17ok.jpg

The wind was picking up more so we decided that was enough for us and we headed back in. We also walked around the condo courtyard. It was one of a couple of other walks that we did around the courtyard but I'll be showing those photos another time since this was just about our walk to the beach. 🙂

wednesdaywalk6-16-2021-18ok.jpg

Thanks @tattoodjay for #wednesdaywalk!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency